· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default About to set up my first tank: critique wanted

1 Not allowed!
    Hello! Greetings to you all. I have been thinking about getting an aquarium for a couple years now and have been doing a lot of research. I garden indoors for a living so I am very familiar with water chemistry, the importance of keeping water within given parameters, and how to adjust ph, nitrates, etc. I also have a ton of house plants that I am very successful in keeping. I figure the next step in building my indoor nature preserve is a small freshwater aquarium. I think I have decided on what I want, but I may be packing too many fish into the tank I plan on getting. Here's my idea, followed by my questions:
    TankTop Fin 20 gallon. It comes with 1 t-5 bulb built in, which should be plenty of light without a ton of heat
    Filter: Nat-Geo PF20
    Heater
    I would like to do a mix of sand and gravel (60:40?).
    Livestock: 4 African Dwarf Frogs, 6 Harlequin Rasboras, 3 otocinclus cats, and a female betta.
    My plan is to get the tank, set it all up, and let it cycle, add a couple plants after a couple days (Anubias and Java moss on driftwood), and then begin adding fish over the next couple months.
    Question 1: is this too many fish for a 20gal?
    Question 2: I know I should add the betta last (I have a five gal emergency tank for her if things don't go well), but in what order should the others be added?
    Question 3: is there anything I'm missing, or do you have any other advice?

Thank you for taking the time to read this!

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Happy Easter - steeler58   Happy Mothers day :) - steeler58   So sorry for your loss :( - steeler58   Those goldfish are lucky they've met you. - Slaphppy7   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   

1 Not allowed!