· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Congrats on your barb fry! - Slaphppy7   

Default Help with upgrading nano reef please

0 Not allowed!
    I need some advice on upgrading my reef tank to a bigger one.

I set up a 5 gallon nano reef 8 months ago and it's doing pretty well. I've been doing freshwater aquariums for about 5 years so I thought I'd try out saltwater. It's been going surprisingly great for a beginner and it being so little. Parameters are always on point and where they need to be. I will admit I stupidly put an ocellaris clownfish in there. He seems to be happy though. Comes out and says hello whenever I feed him and am near the tank. Anyway, he needs a bigger tank and some friends. How do I take a well established tank and put it into a new one without throwing everything off? Or do I set up the new one and let it cycle while the other is still up and running? I would ideally want to use the live sand and rock I have already and put it in the bigger tank.

Any and all help/advice is appreciated. I expect I'll be getting scolded for subjecting this adorable fish to such a small tank.

Thank you in advance!
    Last edited by Malyssaasaurus; 02-24-2015 at 09:11 PM.

Latest gifts & ribbons:

1 Not allowed!
    Scolded for the whole thing actually. I should have just put shrimp in it or just gone with something bigger like at least a 10 or 15 gallon. Hindsight is 20/20, right? I'm not feeling so bright on this one.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Right back at ya -- cheers! - RiversGirl   T.G.I.F.!  I can't drink alone. - Boundava   I don't like to drink alone,...  Cheers !!! - Cliff   Thanks for the help! - BluewaterBoof   Just 'cause - Boundava   

1 Not allowed!
    Cliff will probably be the one to help you along with this one. He's my go-to guy for SW advice and I don't even have a SW tank. yet.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons: