· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default Unforseen Move with new aquarium

0 Not allowed!
    As a beginner I have loved getting our aquarium up and running the last few months, but sadly something unforeseen has happened.. In 2 months we are moving from Toronto Canada to the West Coast USA for a work opportunity (Yay, but... D'oh!).

I've debated multiple approaches, but all have involved selling our livestock due to the long distance :( Plus potential issues bringing them across border etc.. and same goes for plants I think.

Option 1: Find friend/family that want to start an aquarium :) -- They would be ready to go right off the hop, just need to re-cycle and pick livestock

Option 2: Sell off the aquarium as a bundle or piece by piece -- More hassle for me

Option 3: Look into getting the moving company to ship the aquarium for us. We are noob long distance movers as well, always moved our own stuff.. My understanding is we should be able to get insurance on it and I am sure they have moved more delicate things than an aquarium? We would bag all our rock/driftwood as well.

Unsure of how long we will be at our new destination, but it will be 1-2 years minimum. Doesn't make sense to go through the beginner learning curve and then stop the hobby after an unforeseen move, so we want to set up another tank. Plus.. Fish are so relaxing :)

Would like to hear any thoughts/recommendations from the community, it will help me a lot.

Thanks

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Merry Christmas! - Slaphppy7   For Your 33 Gallon. Happy Holidays! - Taurus   Happy New Year! - jeffs99dime   

0 Not allowed!
    Well... #1 is probably going to feel the best to you.