· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default What should I get to replace old media? (C-160)

0 Not allowed!
    Hi! This is my first post on this forum, and I hope I'm not doing the wrong thing by asking this question. I'm a relatively new hobbyist, and I plan to raise my fishes in a safe environment, prior to buying them of course! First order, I just received a new 29 gallon tank as well as a Marineland C-160 canister filter from my friend as he has retired these resources, and I decided I might as well take them off of his hands. I've read up a ton on them (sorta), and I've seen quite a bit of mentions in regards to the media and it's quality. Let's just say in this situation, the filter came with no media. Just the filter itself, the hoses, and the baskets. What would I need to purchase in order to have it working efficiently as if I just bought it? I understand I could repurchase all of the retail media that usually comes with it, but I hear that there are better and cheaper alternatives, I'm just not sure what is actually required and what is just overkill (possible?)

I have yet to cycle my tank, but I plan to have all necessary resources before I start anything. Please keep in my mind I am trying to work on a economically efficient budget when purchasing the media. Also, if it is cheaper to buy another filter, then please let me know! I realize that I am considered an amateur, and I plan to do my best to learn a lot before I put my fishes into the tank.

1 Not allowed!
    I would suggest using as much biological filter media as possible (like bio-max) and a sponge (for mechanical filtration) help keep crud out from the biological filter media

Have you read up on cycling a aquarium without fish yet, otherwise known as a fishless cycle.