· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Awards Showcase

come on in and sit a spell...welcome - SeaLady Thanks for the thumbs! - Slaphppy7 just because - cm12setx for surrving dinner with in laws - cm12setx doing a great build on your tanks! - SeaLady 
    Heres to new fish!!!! Yay - SeaLady Congrats on the new fish! - Slaphppy7 Thanks for all the thumbs up! - steeler58 T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7 for playing the cory game - cm12setx 
    For being my "rock" star, LOL! - Slaphppy7 you have come to the dark side:) mah haha - aquariumlover10 for cycling your tank - cm12setx For almost completing the cycle of 2nd tank - afro123 Congrats on the cycled tank! - Slaphppy7 
    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7 TGIF. - cm12setx Thanks. - mommy1 TGIF indeed! - RiversGirl TGIF! Have a drinkie drink! - Compass 

Default Internal filters for low-tech 40 gallon breeder set up

0 Not allowed!
    I am fairly new to this community and have learned a lot already just from reading the forums!

I currently have a 10 gallon freshwater tank with 1 female betta, 3 glowlight tetra, 4 neon tetras, small gravel substrate, a generic 10/20 gallon internal power filter and lighted hood that came with the tank.

Today I bought a 40 gallon breeder tank and hinged glass cover. I also bought a 25 lb bag of smaller gravel and a 16 lb bag of active-flora with the intention of mixing the new substrates all together with the 15 lbs of old small gravel substrate. I intend to buy some egg crate diffuser to put in the bottom of the tank to protect the glass from scratches when placing large decorations.

I haven't decided on a heater yet, but will be looking for one that is submersible and adjustable. I am looking at the 36" Aqueon Colormax T5 light fixture (holds 2 lamps) for the lighting and hoping this will be sufficient for low tech plant growth.