Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
  ...

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hong Kong / Shenzhen
    Posts
    42

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default Growing Algae in Fershwater Sump?


    0 Not allowed!
    Hey guys and gals,

    I was wondering how I might be able to grow algae in one of my sump compartments. I have seen this in various reef aquarium set-up with different kinds of "macroalgae" and was wondering what I would need to do the same in my freshwater tank.
    Would that even make sense? From my understanding it should be kinda like an algae scrubber and reduce phosphate and nitrates.

    I hope I could get something like that: 2567998433_265ff0ca0c_o.jpg
    (Picture courtesy of algaescrubber.net)

    The tank currently holds eight blood parrot cichlids and no plants (They dig everything up all the time)

    How would I go about getting that started? I doubt I can buy algae anywhere around here.

    I think I would go:

    Overflow ---------> [Sponge filter compartment] -> [Algae compartment] -> [Ceramic rings] -> [Bio balls] ---------> Tank

    Any ideas?
    450g Pond : 8 Red-Eared Slider, 1 Common Snapping Turtle. (I rehoused the Oscars)
    110g Giant Snakehead Tank

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    6,169

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    TGIT (Thank God it is Thursday) - afro123   Great helper. Here's a hotdog. - metweezer   Happy New Year!! - SeaLady   For your plant placement experiment...nice! - Slaphppy7   Thanks 4 help - pRED   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Well you could just put lots of light on the compartment and wait. Algae shall come to you. lol But have you thought about just putting plants in there? Free floating plants like anacharis, parrots feather, water lettuce, are a few different kinds and they are all very good at cleaning nitrates.
    Increasing your biodiversity increases your stability.

    You know what this tank needs? ........................ Crypts.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hong Kong / Shenzhen
    Posts
    42

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    But the floating plants won't keep the algae away, will they?
    450g Pond : 8 Red-Eared Slider, 1 Common Snapping Turtle. (I rehoused the Oscars)
    110g Giant Snakehead Tank

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    6,169

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    TGIT (Thank God it is Thursday) - afro123   Great helper. Here's a hotdog. - metweezer   Happy New Year!! - SeaLady   For your plant placement experiment...nice! - Slaphppy7   Thanks 4 help - pRED   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by mrgoodkat View Post
    But the floating plants won't keep the algae away, will they?
    They might, but I was suggesting using them in the place of algae.
    Increasing your biodiversity increases your stability.

    You know what this tank needs? ........................ Crypts.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hong Kong / Shenzhen
    Posts
    42

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    That's what I meant. The algae in the sump is supposed to take up all the excess nutrients in the water so there won't be any left in the main tank for algae to grow. No more glass cleaning :D
    450g Pond : 8 Red-Eared Slider, 1 Common Snapping Turtle. (I rehoused the Oscars)
    110g Giant Snakehead Tank

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    6,169

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    TGIT (Thank God it is Thursday) - afro123   Great helper. Here's a hotdog. - metweezer   Happy New Year!! - SeaLady   For your plant placement experiment...nice! - Slaphppy7   Thanks 4 help - pRED   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Oh, well then yeah. Theoretically they should out perform algae so if you just put a bunch of floating plants and make it a tangled mess it should suck as much nutrients out as any algae would.
    Increasing your biodiversity increases your stability.

    You know what this tank needs? ........................ Crypts.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    6,169

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    TGIT (Thank God it is Thursday) - afro123   Great helper. Here's a hotdog. - metweezer   Happy New Year!! - SeaLady   For your plant placement experiment...nice! - Slaphppy7   Thanks 4 help - pRED   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I think the only reason saltwater guys use macroalgae is there are few plants that grow in salt water. Don't have that problem in freshwater tanks.
    Increasing your biodiversity increases your stability.

    You know what this tank needs? ........................ Crypts.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    20,090

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   Chocolate always makes a body better.  Glad you're on the ment - fishmommie   Here's to a quick recovery my friend. - mommy1   Happy Holidays. - gadget228   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    If you use very high levels of lighting with a very high color temp (over 12,000K), you should get a lot of algae growth. You would also need to have the correct amount of flow going through your sump to allow the algae to take hold and grow. You could place several pcs of a plastic mess screening lightly sanded in that sump compartment to provide a surface for the algae to grow on while allowing the water to flow through and around it. Same principle as a more traditional algae scrubber, just a little easier to build and get going.

    Not matter if it is in a freshwater tank, or a marine tank, a algae scrubber can be set-up in the same way. You just need a little different flow and different color spectrum of lighting
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •