· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default My betta fish is sick?

0 Not allowed!
    I'm not sure what is wrong with him. His scales are beginning to stick out. I can't tell if he is bloating or anything and his balance seems fine so I don't think it's dropsy. He's very lethargic and won't eat. He just floats in the corner near the surface barely moving. I'm new to keeping bettas so any advice or help will be appreciated. He is in a 10 gallon tank with a filter and heater.

2. Default

1 Not allowed!
    Sorry about your sick betta

How long have you had him?
    How did you cycle your tank
    Have you checked for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates?
    At what temp are you keeping the water?
    Are there other fish in the tank and if so what are they and how many?

specific answers to all of these questions will help figure out what might be wrong. Pineconing, however, is not a good sign, I'm sorry to say. It can be a symptom of parasites, toxic shock (high ammonia or nitrites or nitrates), or infection.
    30 g FW planted:corys, ABNP, blue angel, harleys, zebra danios, nerites & mystery snails
    15 g FW planted: crown tail betta, neons, snails
    90 g FW semi planted: Blood Parrots, severum, Jurupari, EBJD, congos, kribs, clown pleco, snails
    90 Gal Journal: http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ad.php?t=93939
    Fishless cycling: http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640
    Cycling with fish: http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ad.php?t=36492

1 Not allowed!
    Agreed. Scales pineconing is a bad sign. Usually once a fish has dropsy there isn't any turning back, as it shows that there is severe internal malfunctioning.
    I'd euthanize it, but if you want to try to save the betta, turn the heat up to at least 80 degrees Fahrenheit, add a little salt and treat with an antibiotic(I've had good experiences with kanaplex).