· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default A Note on Nitrate and Water Changes

1 Not allowed!
    Being a mathematician, I decided to do a calculation (I'm not kidding when I say I have a notebook with just formulas and calculations I've written pertaining to my aquarium) to figure out the relationship between water changes and nitrate levels in the tank. I'd like to share what I've found because it's rather counter-intuitive and I think quite a few people would benefit from it.

Some thing's I've read (here and on other sites) make such claims as, "If you don't do at least 50% water changes every week, you won't be able to overcome the weekly nitrate production and the levels will continue to rise indefinitely, leading to a tank crash." Well, I bring good news: these claims turned out to be false. I'll explain the actual relationship using as little math as possible so everyone can understand.

Let k be amount of nitrate produced in your tank in one week, let p be the proportion of water that you change during a water change (NOTE: since this is proportion and not percentage, a 25% water change corresponds to p = 0.25, and similarly for other percentages), and let n be the number of weeks between water changes. As time goes on, the nitrate concentration in your tank will approach the value n*k/p (call this number L for future reference). Of course, this model is simplified, but I think it'll work perfectly fine for all intents and purposes. Depending on whether your nitrate levels are currently higher or lower than this number, they will either decrease to it or increase to it, respectively, over time.