· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default A chronicle on how to photograph fish

0 Not allowed!
    I've come across a little free time in my schedule coming up, so I plan on finally being able to spend a little time on working on how to best photograph fish.

I figured that one or two other members may wish to keep up with the progress, so I figured that this section seemed to be the most appropriate (mods feel free to move if I am mistaken).

To begin with, I'll go over the equipment to be used and settings.

Since I do photography for a living my equipment will vary from probably everyone else, but the approach should translate well to anyone using a semi modern (last 6 years) dslr camera with an external flash (not built onto camera).

I'll be using the following:

Nikon D3
    Sb900 Flash (off camera fired remotely with pocket wizards)
    Nikkor 50mm lens coupled with a 2x teleconverter or Sigma 28-90mm macro coupled with a 36mm macro tube.

Each picture presented will have settings posted so that others can play along

Now, this information will give you a place to start but it will take plenty of practice to get good at it. I've taken well over 1 million images during my 22 years in the photography business so don't expect to learn every trick of the trade from this post.

I'll also take pics of the setups as I go along.

Hopefully over a relatively short period of time my fish photos will become "good" by my standards.

Here is my starting point: (what I consider to be an okay image)

The settings are:

Nikkor 50mm with 2x teleconverter: In my D3, I shoot in 5:4 mode so it will throw off the focal length sometimes.

Camera NIKON D3
    ISO 1600
    Focal Length 50mm (55mm in 35mm)
    Aperture f/2.8
    Exposure Time 0.0125s (1/80)
    Flash flash fired, compulsory flash mode, return light not detected
    Metering pattern
    Exposure Program manual