· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Random deaths of Guppies.

0 Not allowed!
    Hello everyone,

I'm not an expert in fish keeper , but I can say I have enough experience, so here's my problem:

My guppies keep dying randomly. Everyday at least one or two. Mostly females and occasionally the males too. Yes quite embarrassing actually, everyone says they are the easiest fish to have but for some reason I find keeping mollies and platys much easier then silly old guppies.

This is whats happening:

1) All fish seem happy; almost everyday I see more babies from guppies & mollies. (6 neon tetras, several black and white mollies and handful of guppies.)
    2) All fish are fine, except the guppies they are happy and swimming and one second later I come back and see one dead, and that keeps happening. One at a time, no apparent sickness at all they were perfectly ok no weird behavior at all.
    3) Water quality seems ok, PH, ammonia, nitrates etc...
    4) Partial water changes every week
    5) Bacteria (CYCLE) is added as recommended for partial water changes

My 2nd tank; I have platys, red eye balloon tetras and gold mollies, Marigold swordtail. They are all fine.

I cant seem to figure out my 1st tank what it is with me and the guppies. Totally got me bugged. Any suggestions?

2. Default

2 Not allowed!
    What exactly are your water parameters, and I'm wondering why do you add "cycle" when doing a water change? Is the tank not yet cycled and are you using a dechlorinator as well. With a little more info someone might have some ideas for you.

2 Not allowed!
    If this is what you are adding
    http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...fm?pcatid=3983

you need to stop, this does not dechlorinate the water, you need to buy a dechlorinator to use instead, let us know the exact water params (0,0,0) is actually not a good reading for most people typically

4. Default

0 Not allowed!