· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Thanks for the rep! - steeler58   Here's a danio to get you started! - Slaphppy7   

Default Beginner in Need of Help

0 Not allowed!
    Hi Everyone,

Let me preface by question by saying that I am very new to this. I have posted my question on other sites and received nothing but snide and critical responses, making me feel like a complete idiot. I am posting my question on here because, as I mentioned, I really need some guidance. Not criticism - I am the first to admit that I am not very knowledgeable. I recently got my first tank, it is 10 gallons, which I cycled naturally for several weeks. Once my water was fish-ready, I inquired at a few pet stores as to what fish could fit in my tank. I was told that I could add 5 Tiger Barbs and that some other small fish could be added in after a month or so.

My initial question had been seeking suggestions as to other fish which could co-habitate with my tiger barbs. Based on the criticisms I've received on other sites however, I have come to learn that I am torturing my barbs in such a tiny tank and that I should return them immediately. They seem very happy, active, eating well, etc. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for any productive insight you can provide.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Asking good questions, keep it up! - Slaphppy7   Congrats on the tank move - Slaphppy7   Thanks for being the 2000th poster on the 40B! - Slaphppy7   Thanks for the B-Day wish - Strider199   Here's to one crummy Superbowl, lol! - Slaphppy7   

0 Not allowed!
    I personally wouldn't add any more fish to that tank right now. Your fish may be fine now. But if you may answer, what size are the fish? Most stores usually sell young fish or juvi's as we call them.