· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Took algae scrubber out

0 Not allowed!
    Morning! I'm just throwing this out to you for input. Long ago I had made my own 6 x 8 scrubber (in my case Im using 5 LED pods I had on hand). It worked really well in my 55 tank. So when I got another 55, I took it out, scraped it off and put it in my new tank. I bought a few items to make a new scrubber for the new tank, but havent gotten to that yet. One reason is that the main 55 is heavy with plant competition. My newer 55 is 50/50 real and plastic plants.
    Ok Im not an algae expert so my question is am I doing it right and is it working right. Here's why. Every time I clean it out every few weeks it is FULL and it stinks to high heaven. The algae is 'mostly' slime, but when disturbed has hairy in the slime. I look at algae pictures and cant quite match any up to slime. Cleaning the glass is a nightmare, theres as much on the glass as on the screen! I try to scoop it with a paper towel and clamp the towel closed, but Im still releasing a huge amount free floating. Not happy about all this, but pressed on. Until I started to notice the roots of my plants turning bright teal green. I have some floating bamboo and 4 anubis. Half the anubis is suction cupped, half bound to rock and such. So I pulled the scrubber out, as the roots were turning the same color as the algae in the scrubber. Been about a week out now, all my roots are back to 'root' color!
    Is my scrubber too small, leaching out into the tank? Do I even need a scrubber? Is any of it toxic to the fish? (also since removal the tank smells like a fish tank should, not the stink opening the lid). Is my build incorrect (IE LED's)? Is it just me and it works as it should?
    FYI, this tank has 2 parrots, 5 cichlids, 1 tucan tetra, 1 blue crayfish (just molted #2 YAY!) and 6 algae eaters, down to 4 now, cichlids got hungry).