· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default Brand new to aquariums. Fish not eating. Help!

0 Not allowed!
    Ok, I am brand new to this world and I am hoping you can help me. We have a 40 gallon freshwater tank. We set it up and allowed it to fully cycle before adding any fish. We use the API master test kit and got zero ammonia, zero nitrite, and a low nitrate (I don't remember the exact number but it was well below the acceptable range). We purchased 6 black line tetras and 1 albino bristle nose pleco. The pleco seems to really be shy right now, so I try to keep the lights off when we are sleeping or not home so she can relax. (I think it is a girl there are no barbs on her nose.) I put in an algae wafer and noticed her eating it the first night however I haven't seen her eating since. I am guessing she probably eats while we are sleeping. My first question with her is how often do I give her a wafer? I don't want to overfeed.

The next question is regarding the tetras. We bought them the granule type of food. They have not eaten at all since we got them. We tried once yesterday morning and they didn't even act like we put anything in there. It all sank to the bottom. Hubby tried again this morning with just a tiny tiny amount and again, nothing. He said it sank really fast and was concerned they never even had a chance to see it. Tonight, I put in 2 to 3 granules above where they were just to see if they would try to eat. I figured if they acted like they want food, I could add more and if they didn't that was only a tiny bit to mess up my tank floor. They were too busy swimming away from my hand to bother with food. Again, failed attempt to feed. So, will they look for the food on the bottom of the tank? Is it common for them not to eat yet after more than 48 hours in a new tank with good water? Just a little worried about them.