· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Superbowl Chili Cook Off

0 Not allowed!
    So, a SB party I am going to is having a chili cook off...

My chili is typically pretty boring since me and my fiance have different tastes, so we spice it to flavor after it is cooked.

I need ideas that are different since I am a rookie at this annual party lol.

I need something with a ton of flavor and little kick - woman voted for a sweet chili (which won last year) so can't be too hot

0 Not allowed!
    I had to look this up. Interesting tradition.

Hmmm...

Ground beef or finely cut braising steak? That's your first decision. The latter only if you have time to simmer the chili. A small chorizo cut into small pieces can liven up a chili, especially if you fry it first in some oil and tip tit in oil and all. For spices I tend to use garlic, pepper, some salt, ground cumin and a touch of cinnamon. If I can get it some smoked powdered chili.. I also use some vegetable or beef stock as a cooking liquid. I've heard some people add a small amount of very dark and bitter chocolate to theirs.

Do practice in small portions a few times and make notes.

0 Not allowed!
    Yea, I have 2 weeks to prepare it, I want it to simmer a few days to get a good even flavor throughout

0 Not allowed!
    Are you going to shar the final recipe?

I've got you started but there's not much chili culture here, I'm sure there will be many other recipes shared here later today.

0 Not allowed!
    I'm leaning towards a bison / venison based chili, maybe some bacon

I like the idea of a little cinnamon though

But yes, I'll share the recipe and results

Awards Showcase

Asking good questions, keep it up! - Slaphppy7 Congrats on the tank move - Slaphppy7 Thanks for being the 2000th poster on the 40B! - Slaphppy7 Thanks for the B-Day wish - Strider199 Here's to one crummy Superbowl, lol! - Slaphppy7