Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal



Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    242

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    【ツ】 - korith   With biomedia, the more the merrier! - Slaphppy7   

    Default Question about new tank setup: filters


    0 Not allowed!
    I just got a new 37gal tank. I had it running for a day with my old marinela d 200 bio wheel filter while I was waiting for my new aquaclear 70. I wanted to run both for about a week or to to keep my cycle, but they both together won't fit with my hood on, and I can't fit my bio-wheel in the filter to keep it going so for lack of a better option, I just have the bio wheel floating around in my tank for now, does anyone have any other ideas? I can't leave my tank w/o a hood especially because I have 3 cats. It's a marineland hood and even if I pop out the other plastic panel in the back the 2 together won't fit. So any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks!
    65 Gallon Planted Community: Turquoise Rainbow: 1 Bosemani Rainbow: 1 Kuhli Loach: 6 Rummynose Tetra: 7 Pleaco: 1 Clown Pleaco: 1 Diamond Tetra: 1. Paleatus Cory: 3
    Veil Angel: 1 Clown Loach: 1 Royal Red Doscus: 1

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Frozen Wastes of the Upper Midwest
    Posts
    1,806

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Asking good questions, keep it up! - Slaphppy7   Congrats on the tank move - Slaphppy7   Thanks for being the 2000th poster on the 40B! - Slaphppy7   Thanks for the B-Day wish - Strider199   Here's to one crummy Superbowl, lol! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    have you tried something like this hood? you just cut out the back plastic piece to the size of holes needed for the filters -
    http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...fm?pcatid=3790

    EDIT - check with slap but I think that's the one he uses and how easy you can trim it.
    Last edited by FrozenTundra; 01-09-2014 at 03:49 AM.
    Current tanks:
    37G FW - 3 Pearl Gourami, 4 Black Mollies, approximately 20+ Molly Fry, 5 Assassin Snails | 10G Planted FW - 14 Molly Fry, rocks, DW and an Anubias Nana - journal
    "We come from the land of the ice and snow" | "I reject your reality and substitute my own" - Adam Savage | What part of "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn" don't you understand?
    How to cycle without fishies!

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    Posts
    2,515

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Thanks for the rep! - steeler58   Thanks!! - steeler58   Happy Easter! - Slaphppy7   Thx4rep - pRED   Won't let me give a rep ptr re the 12 gal tank - fishmommie   

    Default


    1 Not allowed!
    squeeze and clean out as much as possible the filter sponges from the old marineland into the tank water while running the new filter. the gunk you dislodge from the old filter will be
    taken up by the new filter.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    20,090

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   Chocolate always makes a body better.  Glad you're on the ment - fishmommie   Here's to a quick recovery my friend. - mommy1   Happy Holidays. - gadget228   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I would suggest running both the old and new filters for about 5 weeks before taking the old one off. This would ensure you are allowing enough time for the new filter to become seeded

    Also, as this is only for a short period of time, why not just take the hood off while running the two filters ? As long as you do not have fish that are known to jump out of tanks, you'll be OK
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3,689

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    1 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Asult316 View Post
    I can't leave my tank w/o a hood especially because I have 3 cats. It's a marineland hood and even if I pop out the other plastic panel in the back the 2 together won't fit. So any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks!
    @Cliff - he has 3 cats who would probably love a fishy snack : )

    So, the filter you're currently running is cycled already and you need to cycle the new one? The suggestion to squeeze out the media into the water or find a way to get the gunk into the new filter sounds good - or, you just stick the new filter on and it will eventually cycle although I can understand you wanting to speed up the process.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    242

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    【ツ】 - korith   With biomedia, the more the merrier! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    As of right now, I've tried releasing as much "gunk" from my old filters medias as well as keeping the bio wheel floating around the tank. Thanks for the help. Between that, and dosing with microbe special blend, hopefully I can cycle through quickly. Btw, how long so you think I should keep the wheel floating around in there, or if I should even bother leaving it in there al all?
    65 Gallon Planted Community: Turquoise Rainbow: 1 Bosemani Rainbow: 1 Kuhli Loach: 6 Rummynose Tetra: 7 Pleaco: 1 Clown Pleaco: 1 Diamond Tetra: 1. Paleatus Cory: 3
    Veil Angel: 1 Clown Loach: 1 Royal Red Doscus: 1

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3,689

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Honestly, I don't think leaving the biowheel in there is productive - your concern is the new filter - unless you need the biowheel to stay cycled for another tank. I hope I'm right here : )

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    242

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    【ツ】 - korith   With biomedia, the more the merrier! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I just figured that leaving the bio wheel would help with releasing the bio load it had into the water to help with cycling of the tank and new filter.
    65 Gallon Planted Community: Turquoise Rainbow: 1 Bosemani Rainbow: 1 Kuhli Loach: 6 Rummynose Tetra: 7 Pleaco: 1 Clown Pleaco: 1 Diamond Tetra: 1. Paleatus Cory: 3
    Veil Angel: 1 Clown Loach: 1 Royal Red Doscus: 1

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    4,591

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   pizza for all.  I finished my book today!!! - fishmommie   Thank you for all the plant advice - showmebutterfly   Merry Xmas To You! - Sandz   Happy Christmas! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    1 Not allowed!
    what about running one on the back of the tank and the other on the front...

    it may not look great... but it is only temporary right?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    242

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    【ツ】 - korith   With biomedia, the more the merrier! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    It won't work. The hood would be open too much. The hood is one piece that opens up like a car hood.
    65 Gallon Planted Community: Turquoise Rainbow: 1 Bosemani Rainbow: 1 Kuhli Loach: 6 Rummynose Tetra: 7 Pleaco: 1 Clown Pleaco: 1 Diamond Tetra: 1. Paleatus Cory: 3
    Veil Angel: 1 Clown Loach: 1 Royal Red Doscus: 1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •