· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Question 15 gallon with cichlids?

0 Not allowed!
    Hello!
    I would love to keep cichlids, however due to my current circumstances I can only keep a 15 gallon long. Is it plausible to keep any species of cichlids in such a small aquarium? This may be a ridiculous question but I am very new to cichlids so please be considerate. Could I perhaps stock my aquarium with Kribenisis, Apistogramma or another form of 'Dwarf Cichlids'? I have heard that shell dwelling cichlids are the best choice for smaller aquariums, however none of my local pet shops stock them, and I would rather not have them shipped. I may be able to upgrade to a 20 if I must.

Here is some more information about my situation:

Filtration: I have a Aquaclear 30 from an old aquarium, and I plan to use the following filter media in this order:
    course sponge
    filter wool
    ceramic biological media

Water perimeters:
    Ph: Alkaline 7.0 - 7.5 (It may in fact be higher, however my testing kit does not have a higher result.)
    It's interesting though because I used to keep Neon Tetras and they seemed to be in perfect condition.

I plan to do regular water changes of 15-20% weekly.
    This is also my first planted tank, as I used to keep a few live plants but never a fully planted aquarium.

Thank you! If you would prefer to know more about the supplies I own, or anything else feel free to ask.

- Ivy
    -Ivy
    Any time any person tells me they own fish, I automatically ask them a barrage of questions. "Please tell me it is not a bowl." Do you know what the Nitrogen Cycle is?" "Do you have a filter? What kind?" "How often do you replace water?" "How many fish do you have?" etc etc. Then I continue a discussion for about 20 more minutes before I realize I tend to be the only person that cares.

15 gallon long: One betta fish. Still working on it. Will be a planted aquarium.

1 Not allowed!