Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
  ...

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default Help! My filter quit working!


    0 Not allowed!
    I could say I'm a new aquarium enthusiast. I starting keeping a 10 gallon aquarium in the spring. Right now I have 2 kissing fish, 3 platies and 3 dalmatian mollies. My filter quit about a week ago and won't be able to get another for a few more days. I have an aerator creating bubbles in the tank and I'm doing 25 to 50% water changes every other day. I had a couple of fish to die, however. I also put in mantenance for water chemistry and PH balance every time. Seems to be working as I keep checking the ammonia level which stays a "safe". Will my fish be okay until I get another filter?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    In a hollow tree
    Posts
    20

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome :-) - ~firefly~   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Do you have any substrate in the tank ??

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    western new york
    Posts
    3,780

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~   Merry Christmas - Cliff   Merry xmas! - ScottishFish   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Holiday Ham comes ones a year... to bring you a pig size share of holiday cheer! - Trillianne   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    What filter do you have and what exactly happened with it? Often when filters quit it is due to debris preventing the impeller from spinning and can be easily fixed by cleaning them. I will wait until we get the filter issue resolved before I address your stocking.

    Liters to Gallons conversion calculator

    "Keeping fish for any period of time doesn't make you experienced if you're doing it wrong. What does, is acknowledging those mistakes and learning from them." ~Aeonflame
    "
    your argument is invalid." ~Mommy1


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I have gravel...no live plants....snails that I "pick out" daily. Started with 2 snails....BIG mistake!

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I have a filter that hangs on back of tank. I've cleaned it. Water used to filter thru without the barrel turning, but now no water is filtering whatsoever.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    20,090

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   Chocolate always makes a body better.  Glad you're on the ment - fishmommie   Here's to a quick recovery my friend. - mommy1   Happy Holidays. - gadget228   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    What is the make and model of your filter?

    If you do not know, please post a picture
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3,691

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Daisynwv View Post
    I could say I'm a new aquarium enthusiast. I starting keeping a 10 gallon aquarium in the spring. Right now I have 2 kissing fish, 3 platies and 3 dalmatian mollies. My filter quit about a week ago and won't be able to get another for a few more days. I have an aerator creating bubbles in the tank and I'm doing 25 to 50% water changes every other day. I had a couple of fish to die, however. I also put in mantenance for water chemistry and PH balance every time. Seems to be working as I keep checking the ammonia level which stays a "safe". Will my fish be okay until I get another filter?
    What exactly are you adding? Don't mess with your pH - what do you mean by maintenance for water chemistry - do you mean dechlorinator when you change your water or something else?

    A "safe" ammonia level while cycling with fish in the tank is .25ppm - is that what you have?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I'm using Tetra EasyBalance. It says maintains water chemistry & PH for all freshwater aquariums and to use weekly. Then I'm testing with an ammoniia test strip kit and it goes between the .25 and .5. Which .5 says stress, but it's mostly .25 when I check it. I feel like I have the water under control. How much longer do you think I can wait until I get another filter? Like I said, I'm getting one later this week.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    western new york
    Posts
    3,780

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~   Merry Christmas - Cliff   Merry xmas! - ScottishFish   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Holiday Ham comes ones a year... to bring you a pig size share of holiday cheer! - Trillianne   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    If you didn't save your filter media and keep it wet, you will need to cycle the tank with the new filter all over again. You will need to do at least a 50% waterchange daily until you add the new filter, then use your ammonia tests to determine how much and how often you need to change the water after that. If you still have the old filter, I suggest you try taking the impeller out and thoroughly cleaning it. The filter may work fine after that.

    Liters to Gallons conversion calculator

    "Keeping fish for any period of time doesn't make you experienced if you're doing it wrong. What does, is acknowledging those mistakes and learning from them." ~Aeonflame
    "
    your argument is invalid." ~Mommy1


  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3,691

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    +1 to the above advice - as long as this isn't a long term situation, doing daily water changes and testing for ammonia to make sure it doesn't get above .25 will work until you get your filter - at that point, just testing your water will be needed and water changes if the ammonia goes above .25, until it drops to 0 and your parameters show a cycled tank.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •