· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default Plants for the Newbie...

0 Not allowed!
    [LEFT]Hi guys,

As the title states I'm completely new to the idea of a planted tank. I've been looking around and trying to work out what I can use and what is too advanced for me at this stage.

The tank is a 3 foot community tank. (see my signature). I've spoken to my local store and I've gotten my hands on some basic plants. I wish I could remember what they were called but unfortunately I've never been good at remembering scientific names.

I am trying to plant a very established tank so any advice/tips on the best approach would be greatly appreciated.

If anyone has suggestions on plants which don't have special CO2 requirements, are easy to root and preferably grow quite quickly it would be a great help.

This the tank. The group of plants in the left corner are silk plants.
    Image1edit.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Learning as I go... and thanking everyone on this forum for their help, advice and patience!

2. Default

1 Not allowed!
    Hi Richard welcome to the forums. I suspect that I am not the only one who is going to first point out that your tank is overstocked and probably has some fish in it that should not be together especially the clown loach - from what I recall that is far too small of a tank for it.. There are others on here that can better explain this than I can.

As far as plants it is going to depend on what lighting you have as well as your water parameters. Gravel bottoms don't usually make the best substrate for a planted aquarium when using rooting plants. Anubias and Java Ferns that can be attached to wood or rocks can do well with gravel bottoms. Can you tell us more about your tank?
    Last edited by mrramsey; 10-29-2013 at 06:16 PM.
    Mike
    120g Mixed Reef In Progress
    120g Reef Journal
    55g Freshwater - Out of Service