Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal



Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    17

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default Cycling Question


    0 Not allowed!
    Sorry if this is not the correct place to post this.

    I have a 16 gallon cycling currently. A few days ago, I added the gravel, decor/plants and water. I also put in water conditioner, the recommended amount of Safe Start, an algae wafer and a gallon of vacuumed out water from my other tank. This morning, a few days after starting this aquarium, I turned on the aquarium's light and I saw that the water is cloudy. I read that this sort of thing is "normal" and "good," that it's bacteria that is growing and will filter out in a few days turning my tank's water clear again. I read that that would be the "end of the cycle" once the water's levels read correctly and the water is clear again. Is this true, or is it just because of the algae wafer dissolving? I have no fish in there yet, so don't panic if the problem could kill my fish. If it is caused by the algae wafer, will this cloudy-ness filter out or will I have to do some water changes?

    Thanks.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    20,090

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   Chocolate always makes a body better.  Glad you're on the ment - fishmommie   Here's to a quick recovery my friend. - mommy1   Happy Holidays. - gadget228   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    If your trying to do a fishless cycle, then you would really need a better source of ammonia

    There is a link below in my sig to a thread here that explains one way of how to complete a fishless cycle, which is about the easiest way that I have found
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    17

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cliff View Post
    If your trying to do a fishless cycle, then you would really need a better source of ammonia

    There is a link below in my sig to a thread here that explains one way of how to complete a fishless cycle, which is about the easiest way that I have found
    Okay, but do you think the cloudy-ness is due to it cycling or because of the algae wafer I put in yesterday?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    20,090

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   Chocolate always makes a body better.  Glad you're on the ment - fishmommie   Here's to a quick recovery my friend. - mommy1   Happy Holidays. - gadget228   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Most likely due to bacteria, but I'm not completely sure that one single wafer could cause that in 16 gallons of water.

    But either way, that alone will not cycle your tank
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    17

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cliff View Post
    Most likely due to bacteria, but I'm not completely sure that one single wafer could cause that in 16 gallons of water.

    But either way, that alone will not cycle your tank
    That's what I'm thinking.

    Thank you.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,757

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes - mommy1   and gift - mommy1   Thanks for the rep - Cliff   Thanks for the rep, have a cool one on me, Cheers - Cliff   Thanks and a new fish for the tank - glarior   
    Troop and Military Support - Amber Alert - Bladder Cancer - Endometriosis - Equality - Liver Cancer - Liver Disease - Missing Children - POW/MIA - Spina Bifida - Suicide - Strider199   

    Default


    1 Not allowed!
    tiinykat I would listen to Cliff and use his cycle info.
    Warning; Bulldog Pleco guarding my Sons tank now..

    Please remember; every keystroke has a consequence.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •