· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default new Java Fern bud ?

0 Not allowed!
    I have a 20 gallon long FW cycled tank with livebearers in it. All my water pararameters are good-ammo is 0 and nitrites and nitrates are in safe range or below. My question is - I have a narrow leaf Java Fern rubber banded to a rock, until I get some driftwood and at the end/tip of one of the leaves it has two tendril-like brown hairlike growths with even finer brown hairlike growths branching off the thicker tendril offshoot. I have only had this fern for maybe two weeks and I wonder if this is a new fern growing or the start of something like brown hair algae. I will try to attach a picture but I am not good at that stuff, although I did read the instructions. If the attachment works, look closely above the red rock.

2. Default

2 Not allowed!
    a picture would be good but in the meantime, if you have any nitrite reading other than 0, your tank is not cycled.
    What are your nitrite and nitrate readings? What are you using to test you water?
    Just trouble shooting in the event you have a problem.
    30 g FW planted:corys, ABNP, blue angel, harleys, zebra danios, pair kribs, & nerite snails
    15 g FW planted: crown tail betta, neons, snails
    90 g FW semi planted: EBJD, congos, apple snails
    90 Gal Journal: http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ad.php?t=93939
    Fishless cycling: http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640
    Cycling with fish: http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ad.php?t=36492

0 Not allowed!
    Agree with fishmommie. Nitrite that is not zero is a real danger.

To the plant, it could be either. Java Fern reproduces in the aquarium by forming adventitious plants on the leaves. But this plant is a low-light one, and is notorious for attracting brush algae in higher light. Without a photo, can't say which this may be.

Byron.
    Byron Hosking, BMus, MA