· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default My aquarium looks a mess

0 Not allowed!
    So I have been running this tank since March now and still don't feel I've left the ranks for complete and utter beginner.

I don't like the way it looks and I am not good at keeping clean, despite doing everything by the book!
    I am still on 50%/week WC and still occasionally get high nitrates (40-60). Other params are generally good. Quite hard water and high Ph (7.5).

Algae and diatoms everywhere, covering all the plants :( Followed online instructions and even briefly resorted to chemical battle but it just won't shift. I even added a second filter just in case the stocking was iffy (one of my male guppies turned out to be a lady guppy so babies happened - they are still tiny, however, and will be going to new homes soon. This problem started well before they were born) -- so no running about 3.5x the necessary filtration on this tank but other than make the water move and suck away debris I don't know what it has changed. TOUCH WOOD I haven't actually lost a fish since the case of the missing neon back in April-ish, so I can't be doing everything wrong, but it just all looks so ugly!

I would like new substrate, new plants, new scape ... and to say goodbye to the green algae. Help? (all this without killing fish or shrimp!)
    Attached Images Attached Images

2 Not allowed!
    Questions - how large of a tank is this? How long do you leave your lights on during the day?

I usually associate diatoms with a newer tank.

What are your most recent water parameters including nitrates?

How often are you feeding your fish and how many are in there now?

How often are you vacuuming the bottom to suck up any excess rotting food?

Have you cleaned your media yet (meaning rinsing it in used tank water)?