· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default Treatment of Ick of GLO tetras

0 Not allowed!
    Hi i'm new to AC forum and have discovered that my newly acquired Glo Tetra's (those neon orange and red tetras that seem to be familiar to black skirt tetras sold at chain pet stores) have ICK. Luckily for me these tetras are in their own tank (a soil based planted 10 gal tank that I let cycle for two months before decided to add any fish to it). They have been in the tank for about ten days now and this afternoon I noticed the white dots on one of the fish. Since they were all in the same tank when purchased and are all in the same tank now I can expect that the rest will soon be developing the spots soon.

I read the article that was sticky in Fish Diseases regarding ICK and was going to try the salt method of treatment. Unfortunately for me I live in a location that has no local fish store and the only pet stores on in the area are already closed for the weekend. So ICK-treatment meds are not an option for me for a few days.

Has anyone treated tetra's (black skirt or Glo's or any similar type) with a salt treatment and could offer advice

Any help is greatly appreciated!

0 Not allowed!
    Do not use salt with tetras, ever. The detrimental effect of salt only adds even more stress, weakening the fish, because of how it affects their physiology and internal functions.