· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Exclamation Betta fish - new 5 gal., filtered tank - unhappy/sick? Black head

0 Not allowed!
    I recently purchased a nice tank for my betta fish who was living in a tight, 1/2 tank. I wanted to give him a nicer home.

Since I've moved him, I can't tell if he's happy or not. How can I tell? Also, it seems like his head, and back towards his body is turning black/gray. I'm new to bettas and I'm not sure if this is normal and just his coloring or an indication of something else. I understand this could be a result of ammonia in the water. I used a de-chlorinator, and tap water conditioner, specifically made for Bettas (I think Aquaeon was the brand).

I don't have a heater in there at the time, and the tank temp is right around 70 degrees. I have a filter and a small re-circulating pump. I think I might be able to turn the turbulence down as I understand Bettas don't care for that to much.

Here are some photos. Any thoughts on the black head and how to tell if he's sick, unhappy and how to improve either of those? Thanks in advance.

photo 1.JPGphoto 2.JPGphoto 3.JPGphoto 4.JPGphoto 5.JPG

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Thank you for getting your betta a proper sized tank! He's a beauty!

Nothing looks out of the ordinary in his coloring to me. Bettas often change color as they age.

What kind of filter do you have in the tank? And do you have a heater?

Make sure the filter has an adjustable flow that can be turned way down. Bettas do not appreciate a lot of water flow but still need a filter.

You'll want to keep the temperature around 80*F to really keep him happy and healthy.

I really like your aquascaping. Looks fantastic! I would recommend some floating plants and/or taller plants like vals or sags... your betta will appreciate them!