· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1. Default Help me please!!!

0 Not allowed!
    Hi every one,

I am so sorry, since i am doubling my post, but i cant find the final answer.
    Here is my original thread, which i already posted in the Beginner Freshwater section.
    Please any one can help me and answer my questions.

Thank you

1 Not allowed!
    I went back and read that thread...I have NO experience with that type of Eheim filter, but I can tell you this:

If you are getting good water flow, the filter seems to be running fine, and the water is clear, DON'T change or remove anything IF you are cycling
    If you are in the middle of a cycle, what type are you doing?...Fish, no fish?..how are your water parameters?

Beneficial bacteria will be growing all throughout that filter, pretty much regardless of what's in there...unless you remove it or wash it in tap water with chlorine or chloramines in it

If you are cycling, don't worry about the setup of the filter now...get cycled, then seek more info on your biomedia

Personally, I just started a fishless cycle yesterday, with an Eheim 2215 canister filter...all I have in there, in order from bottom to top, are the ehimechs, blue sponge, bag of Fluval bio rings,bag of the Eheim bio "balls" (look like Cocao Puffs), and the white sponge to top it off...and I am quite confident that I don't need anything else

That new Eheim "mech" stuff you bought, I have never seen before..

Hope this helps
    10 Gallon Beginner Tank... Journal

40 Gallon Breeder: ... Journal

0 Not allowed!
    Is there a reason that you do not want to follow the media recommendations in the pictures included in the original thread?

As for the ehfimech and eheim mech they do appear to be the same thing. Keep in mind that their only purpose is to break up and even out the water entering the canister, and pretty much any large particle media could do that.