The system is set to notify you whenever one of your posts get a thumbs up. This can however be a little bit distracting and cause you to get a lot of notifications. I have therefore made it possible for users who do not want to recive these notifications to turn them of by visiting

Settings: My account - General settings: Visitor Messaging - Enable notifications for new thumbs on your content?
Unchecking that box will turn off "thumbs up" notifications.