· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default The waiting game

0 Not allowed!
    Hi all. As I've posted before, I'm in the process of fishless cycling my 46 gallon bowfront. And am quickly discovering I am not good at this waiting game! As a biology major I understand the nitrogen cycle quite well, and as a humane society employee and someone who cares for the well being of animals, I don't want to put fish through the stress of toxic qualities in their tank. And so, I sit here watching my completely decorated tank bubble with no fish (oddly, even an empty tank can be relaxing to watch). I am impatient for my cycle to finish (patience is a virtue I do not possess haha).

Started my cycle 18 days ago (yes I know, cycling will take longer than that but one can hope to have the tank that will defy logic haha). Dosed the tank to 4ppm Ammonia. Waited 3 days before testing again and was very excited to see my ammonia was at 2ppm! Unfortunately it has stayed there since. (thinking maybe the hour I had let it run before the first ammonia test may not have been long enough to circulate completely?) Nitrites and nitrates are 0 and have consistently been 0. Five days ago I seeded my tank with a large amount of used filter floss from my LFS in the hopes that would speed up my cycle. Continued testing nightly since then and....nothing. No change. I know I'm being impatient but I was really hoping to see SOMETHING change by now.

More info: 46 gallon bowfront running an Aquaclear 110 power filter plus an airstone. Not using live plants. Temperature is steady around 84. pH has stayed around 7.2

Don't have any specific questions in this post, just wanted to vent about my impatience and hear other people's stories of their fishless cycle experiences :-)