· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default 24" light in a 36" tube strip - adequate for a 36" tank?

0 Not allowed!
    I bought a 40g feeder tank today (36" long) and it came with a versa top and a 36" single tube strip light -- but when I got home and opened the box I see the 36" frame holds a 24" bulb....is this common? I've been doing some reading about lighting but this kind of threw me, as I'm a relative newbie to all this.

I do plan on having a planted community tank and I know I need good lighting....will the 24" length be adequate for a 36" tank, or am I going to have to look for something completely different? I believe I have some options with the wattage of the tube I put in this, just wondering if it is long enough.

I appreciate any information or thoughts on this. Thanks.

0 Not allowed!
    Lights that come with tank kits tend to be horribly inadequate for planted tanks. They usually provide just barely enough light to see the fish. A short light like that will also result in a trapezoid shaped lit area and two dark upper corners. I'd look for a new fixture if I we you. Lights for planted tanks should fulfil 2 criteria; provide a very minimum 1.5 watts per gallon of water, and be flourescent and of an appropriate color temperature (6000-7000 k)

0 Not allowed!
    29g July 18-12.jpgI have a fair bit of hands-on experience with the 24 to 36 inch tanks and fluorescent tubes. My 29g is 30 inches in length and takes the 24-inch tube (T8, which is the "basic"), and my 36-inch tank of 33g takes a 30-inch tube. I experimented with several tubes over the 29g.