· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Ich outbreak! Im a newbie and this is my first encounter need advice.

0 Not allowed!
    So its a 10 gallon with 3 black mollys and an MM platy and I was currently in the middle of a fish in cycle. I was out of town for 2 days and when I came home today 2 of my 3 mollys have a bad visible outbreak of this "ich". Most likely the others have it to.

Already read threads about this disease so... My plan: Slowly raise temp to 85 and abandon the cycle process for now and completely clean the tank and do about a 60% water change.

Correct me if Im wrong, I care for my fish and it sucks to see em suffer so please help me kick this diseases ass! I want yalls advise and posted this before i start on this tonight. Write back asap

0 Not allowed!
    I'm not too sure what you mean about abandoning your cycle. You will need to maintain the best water quality that you can while treating for ich. That would most likely mean a lot of extra daily water changes to help you fish recover. Levels of ammonia and/or nitrites that can happen when cycling with fish likely helped the virus take hold

Sounds like you have chosen to use the heat & salt treatment method. While I have not personally used that approach before, many others here have used it with great success. Just don't forget to add a airstone to help maintain good levels of oxygen in the water as the heat will reduce the amount of oxygen.

85F does sound a little high. I think most people use 82F. I would suggest doing a quick search on that.
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo