· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Question Nano Shrimp Tank....is that possible?

0 Not allowed!
    I was given a tiny 1.5 gallon Tetra aquarium. It's a cute little aquarium but you can't exactly put anything in it.....so I had this idea: shrimp! I have no experience with shrimp so I have no idea if this is something that can even be done.

I was thinking of putting sand or some sort of plant substrate in it for a mini planted aquarium which I think would be quite fun. I thought it would be even more fun to have little shrimpies climbing in and out of the plants.

Is 1.5 gallons too small even for shrimp? Obviously species like bamboo shrimp are out of the question lol What about cherry shrimp? They're very pretty and would look cool climbing through the green plants.

This is the tank I was given:

pPETS-6704010dt.jpg

Any suggestions are welcome!
    56gal Freshwater Planted Community: 1 Angelfish, 2 Bolivian Rams, 8 Cherry Barbs, 6 Bleeding Heart Tetras, 2 Nerite Snails, 1 Yellow Tail Eel, and 1 Bristlenose Pleco
    5gal Hex: Betta
    1.5gal: Planted Cherry Shrimp

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    According to what I've read, you throw a few cherry shrimp in there and keep an eye on the parameters, and you should be fine. You could also consider a few ghost shrimp if you don't mind them not breeding, as those are really hardy.
    I hate hearing people say "it's only a $3/$5/$1 fish/shrimp, so it's ok if it dies, I can just get another." It's still an animal! All animals should be treated like they're worth $10,000.
    29 sw: Damsel, shrimpgoby, pistol shrimp, waspfish
    65 fw: Rummies, glowlight tetras, pencilfish, darters, ottos, f betta, goby, dwarf gourami, ninjas
    29 fw: Chili rasboras, pygmy cories, P. Gertrudae

3. Default

0 Not allowed!