· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Trying to be a good Betta owner, but not sure I'm getting it right... please help :(

0 Not allowed!
    Hi guys,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to owning fish sorry, but I originally bought myself a betta because I have a lonely office and the pet shop lady assured me that keeping a fish was super easy - and she said that a betta would be perfectly happy in a tiny glass bowl on my desk (his original home came with only 1 litre of water!). They also tried to sell me a mirror for him which I'm super glad I didn't get.

I googled how to care for him later that night just to see if there was anything else I could do for him and was honestly horrified to find that the conditions I had for my poor fish were really inadequate!!

I bought Tony about 3 months ago, and I've since bought him a 10 litre aquarium (it's all I could afford) and he has a single real plant and a tiny cave to hide in. The tank is a Serenity brand, and has a very weak filter (Tony seems ok with it), and I've bought him heater as well so that the tank stays a nice 24 degrees Celsius at all times. I change about 40% of his water once a week and his new water is always conditioned. The ph levels of the tank have been consistently creeping up (could this be from using tap water?), but I've kept it as close to 7 as I can by using Aqua One pH Down whenever it's necessary. I've also noticed that Tony /really hates/ his bright aquarium light and I'm not sure if this is normal? But he hides from it and starts looking stressed whenever I turn it on, so I've been keeping his dark blue night-time light on instead and he seems to like that better.