Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal



Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 69
  1. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    greater vancouver
    Posts
    847

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   a betta for your tank ;) - genocidex   Thanks for the rep :-) - ~firefly~   good for you for saving the goldfish - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    i finished set-up.
    i added a pinch of expired baby fish food.
    what am i trying to get my ammonia to?
    i was thinking 1

  2. #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    greater vancouver
    Posts
    847

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   a betta for your tank ;) - genocidex   Thanks for the rep :-) - ~firefly~   good for you for saving the goldfish - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    a quick reply is needed and would be apriciated.
    thank you

  3. #13

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    7,270

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    More coffee for your nose :-) - Taurus   Happy Mothers day :) - steeler58   A book for compleating your's ;-) - steeler58   Happy Birthday USA on the 4th! Hope you are well :-) - Taurus   A geo because i miss yours! - Sandz   
    Troop and Military Support - Amber Alert - Bladder Cancer - Endometriosis - Equality - Liver Cancer - Liver Disease - Missing Children - POW/MIA - Spina Bifida - Suicide - fishmommie   Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - fishmommie   Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I've not cycled a tank using fish food - only ammonia so I'm sorry I can't help you there. I'm wondering though, a single betta in a 10 would not create a huge bio load - it's possible just adding some of the seeded media from one of your other filters would be enough. Someone else may want to weigh in on that.

    As to will a betta and neons get along. I have a betta with neons and they do great. Others have not had that experience so it appears it comes down to the betta.

    Hope you get your other answer and good luck.
    30 g FW planted:corys, female ABNP, blue angel, harleys, zebra danios, rummies,
    15 g FW planted:2 male guppies, neons, pygmy corys, clown pleco, 4 types of shrimp, assassin snails
    90 Gal Journal: http://bit.ly/1vC7gVX
    fishless cycling: http://bit.ly/1DARf3T
    fish in cycling: http://bit.ly/1ILvcfp

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    greater vancouver
    Posts
    847

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   a betta for your tank ;) - genocidex   Thanks for the rep :-) - ~firefly~   good for you for saving the goldfish - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    actully i don't need to cycle, because i am transfering all my media from the 20. the problem is i can't just take all of it at once. so every week i am taking one. i am adding fish food so the bacteria doesn't starve.
    also i think you misunderstood the question.
    i am not saying how much fish food to add, i am saying how much ammonia is not too low and not too high. thanks

  5. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3,680

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by vafa View Post
    actully i don't need to cycle, because i am transfering all my media from the 20. the problem is i can't just take all of it at once. so every week i am taking one. i am adding fish food so the bacteria doesn't starve.
    also i think you misunderstood the question.
    i am not saying how much fish food to add, i am saying how much ammonia is not too low and not too high. thanks
    The problem with adding fish food so the bacteria doesn't starve is the food needs times to rot to produce ammonia - by the time that happens, the bacteria might be dead by then. Why are you not able to transfer more media over at one time? You are correct to do that in order to not need to cycle, but as you know already, you need a source of ammonia right away to feed the bacteria.

    If you are going to cycle with fish food however, you should bring the ammonia up to 2ppm - just be aware that using fish food isn't necessarily reliable - it's hard to know how much will produce the ammonia you need and once the cycle starts & you get a reading for nitrites, you need to bring the amount of ammonia to half (1ppm) once the original level drops to 0.

  6. #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    greater vancouver
    Posts
    847

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   a betta for your tank ;) - genocidex   Thanks for the rep :-) - ~firefly~   good for you for saving the goldfish - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I was hoping that if every day I could add flakes everyday to keep ammonia up. The reason I can't transfer all the media at once is that I don't wanna lose my cycle in the other tank.there is another filler in there but can it keep up.
    Can I just move it at once. The other tank has a filter rated for a 10 and an ac30. The smaller filter is 90 gph and with aqua clear 20 media in it

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    7,270

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    More coffee for your nose :-) - Taurus   Happy Mothers day :) - steeler58   A book for compleating your's ;-) - steeler58   Happy Birthday USA on the 4th! Hope you are well :-) - Taurus   A geo because i miss yours! - Sandz   
    Troop and Military Support - Amber Alert - Bladder Cancer - Endometriosis - Equality - Liver Cancer - Liver Disease - Missing Children - POW/MIA - Spina Bifida - Suicide - fishmommie   Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - fishmommie   Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    sorry for the misunderstanding.
    if you have an AC30 on your one tank, why not just move the 10 gal filter media over to the 10 gal tank and add your betta.
    Then add new media to the 10 in your other tank so it will again be seeded.
    30 g FW planted:corys, female ABNP, blue angel, harleys, zebra danios, rummies,
    15 g FW planted:2 male guppies, neons, pygmy corys, clown pleco, 4 types of shrimp, assassin snails
    90 Gal Journal: http://bit.ly/1vC7gVX
    fishless cycling: http://bit.ly/1DARf3T
    fish in cycling: http://bit.ly/1ILvcfp

  8. #18

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    greater vancouver
    Posts
    847

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   a betta for your tank ;) - genocidex   Thanks for the rep :-) - ~firefly~   good for you for saving the goldfish - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    i can add some neon tetra's from the other tank and with only one piece of media in it there would be some ammonia but not enough to kill the fish. would this work out? if things get bad the simple solution is to move back the tetra's. or i can add a platy.
    any thoughts?

  9. #19

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    7,270

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    More coffee for your nose :-) - Taurus   Happy Mothers day :) - steeler58   A book for compleating your's ;-) - steeler58   Happy Birthday USA on the 4th! Hope you are well :-) - Taurus   A geo because i miss yours! - Sandz   
    Troop and Military Support - Amber Alert - Bladder Cancer - Endometriosis - Equality - Liver Cancer - Liver Disease - Missing Children - POW/MIA - Spina Bifida - Suicide - fishmommie   Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - fishmommie   Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    OR ... you can add the neons and watch your ammonia and keep it no higher than .25 with water changes. the tank will eventually cycle.
    30 g FW planted:corys, female ABNP, blue angel, harleys, zebra danios, rummies,
    15 g FW planted:2 male guppies, neons, pygmy corys, clown pleco, 4 types of shrimp, assassin snails
    90 Gal Journal: http://bit.ly/1vC7gVX
    fishless cycling: http://bit.ly/1DARf3T
    fish in cycling: http://bit.ly/1ILvcfp

  10. #20

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    greater vancouver
    Posts
    847

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   a betta for your tank ;) - genocidex   Thanks for the rep :-) - ~firefly~   good for you for saving the goldfish - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Sounds like a good plan.
    One more thing
    When I got the filter it didn't come with the media holder thing.
    Is this ok

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •