· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Hybrid View

Default Beginning to plan a pond

0 Not allowed!
    Hi guys, I am begin to plan a pond which I have roughly(ROUGHLY) drawn out here:

I had planned on constructing a waterfall in the top right corner.

I was just looking for some general info and starting tips that you guys could offer on things such as filtration and liners.
    Coastie-to-be... hopefully.

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    I dont have alot of advice because I have never done a pond before. I would think that a large UV Sterilizer would be in order to help control algea if your pond will get alot of direct sun.

Good luck and I cant wait to see some pictures as you make more progress.

LionelC

0 Not allowed!
    If I remember correctly, Crispy has set up a pond before

Hopefully he can offer you some advice here
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

0 Not allowed!
    North Carolina... do you get frost there? If so you want at least one bit 75cm deep to allow fish to winter.

There's basically two ways to do a pond. A nature pond with tons of plants and a low stocking level of fish. Or a more high tecth approach using filters and pumps. In any case, do consider a shallow area to allow births to drink and bath.
    Liner.. I've used pond liner. Important with that is some kind of base for it. Special matting or a sand bed.

Awards Showcase