· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Thread: Our first tank.

Hybrid View

1. Red face Our first tank.

0 Not allowed!
    Hello there. This is my Fiance and I's first fish tank.

We are total beginners, but my mother has a tank. This is a 35 gallon tank, with water heater, waterfall pump (is that what its called?), the under the gravel type of filter with 2 pumps hooked up to it. We have 25lbs of black gravel (clearance at walmart @ 2.00 per 5lb bag) and also 5-6 bags of the multicolor fluorescent gravel which I absolutely love as I didn't know it even existed.

We got the tank from a friend what has since gotten a bigger tank. The back was mirrored but had some peeling off. We got the tank, cleaned it very well with water only. Decided to trash the gravel and start fresh. I thought "well if the mirror is peeling why don't we just peel it the whole way off". Tried it, failed. Then found out that if we use a razor it worked. Then we removed the copper/silver with muriatic acid. Perfectly clear glass now. We made sure not to get any on the glue. Again cleaned the tank with water only/sponge. It came with 2 lights for the hood. The correct size one had a worn out switch. The tiny edison base one I took the switch from and replaced the switch in the correct light. The power strip which has a breaker in it needed a new power cord and cleaned up. Replaced the cord (soldered inside w/shrink just like the switch). I mean why buy a new power strip just because of a bad cord..