· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Need some color in the tank

0 Not allowed!
    I have recently joined this site and have perused the forums quite extensively. I am new to aquatics and am looking to finish stocking my tank. I have a 36 gallon bow front, newly cycled. So far I have: 2 black mollies, 4 white skirt tetra, and 4 false julii cory. Im looking to top it off with 1) hardy, community fish (obviously) and 2) a splash of color. I was thinking eventually adding maybe 6 zebra danios and 12 neon tetras...thoughts? opinions on some other variety?

0 Not allowed!
    What's your filtration? This will pretty much decide how fully stocked you can safely be.
    Also, what's your maintenance routine? How much water do you change per week?

I would up the skirt tetra school to 10 and get a few more cories (you want at least 6 or 7), I'd go for 8.

After this you could add a nice school of neon tetra or, my preference, cardinal tetra - 15 should be ok. Or you could consider a school of harlequin rasbora? They have lovely colour once settled. Likewise, a fish I keep myself at the moment - cherry barbs. They are extremely colourful when settled and well cared for. Males are bright red and females are bright orange, often with red fins. You have plenty of options.

Zebra danios wouldn't give you much colour but would give you lots of activity.
    "Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known." Carl Sagan
    ~ My 350 Litre Tank Journal ~

3. Default

0 Not allowed!
    I'm running a HOB rated for 200 gph. Weekly maintenance to include water test, cleaning, and 10 gallon water change.