Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal



Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    36

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default Upgrading my filter and cycling


    0 Not allowed!
    I am currently in the process of fish-in cycling. I have a 29 Gal tank with an Aqueon 20 or 30 (I am not sure which model # it is because it came in a combo pack with my tank and I can't seem to find a number printed anywhere visible without taking the filter out of my tank, also the instructions don't specify which model it is.)

    Anyway, I am interested in upgrading my filter to the Aquaclear 70. I like that it will definitely be more than powerful enough for my tank, and there is a place to put my own media, unlike the Aqueon that I have.

    My question is, how do I go about changing my filter?

    I have read that most of the BB takes up residence in the filter so I am worried that removing my filter and replacing it with a new one would disrupt the cycling process. I am also worried that if I wait and replace it once the tank is fully cycled that most of the BB would go away with the Aqueon, which would cause a set back and be potentially dangerous for my fish.

    Any assistance is appreciated, thanks!

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    methuen ma usa
    Posts
    3,672

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - Lab_Rat   thank you for the birthday wishes - mommy1   Happy One Year AC Anniversary! - Rue   For being understanding, thank you - Cliff   (closest I could find to a catfish) Thanks for the nomination! - sheamurai   
    World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - genocidex   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    best solution, run both filters in the cycle. then about 2 weeks after you can remove the aqueon.
    KING OF THE GOLD BARBS RAWR!!!!
    I wonder if i plant one of my tiger barbs would the demon seed grow to a full tree?
    gotta love them bunnies!
    I.R.S.: We've got what it takes to take what you've got!

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    36

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I'll do that. Thanks.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Glen Arm. MD
    Posts
    2,634

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Happy Christmas - MuckyFish   thanks for advising on vegetables for my kribs! so here is a discus - ScottishFish   You help a lot - PhillipOrigami   For the bank account, and thx for the rep - Cliff   beautiful discus! - Crispy   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    A major problem here - it gerally takes longer to cycle a new filter than two weeks; most people here say give it five weeks before removing the old (cycled) filter. Again, a problem: your old filter isn't fully cycled so be careful. In any case, once both are cycled, removing one will cause a mini spike so expect that and use very large water changes to address the sudden increase in ammonia. This should pass quickly (but may last up to a week) so be ready for that after removing the old filter.
    Knowledge is fun(damental)

    A 75 gal with eight Discus, fake plants, and a lot of wood also with sand substrate. Clean up crew is down to just two Sterba's Corys. Filters: continuous new water flow; canister w/UV, in-tank algae scrubber!! Finally, junked the nitrate removal unit from hell.

    For Fishless cycling:http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    42,943

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Member of the month, a toast is in order. - Strider199   Sorry about your blood parrot :-( - ~firefly~   For this; http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=111325 - Strider199   :-) - ~firefly~   Happy mother's day! Enjoy one on me LOL - imma24   
    Childhood Cancer - hobbs   World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - hobbs   Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - Lady Hobbs   Bone Marrow Donation - Childhood Depression - Depression - Environment - Eye Injury Prevention - Glaucoma - Kidney Cancer - Kidney Disease - Kidney Transplantation - Leukemia - Lyme Disease - Mental Retardation - Missing Children - Organ Donation - T - Lady Hobbs   Arthritis - Child Abuse - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - Dystonia - Education - Free Speech - Interstitial Cystitis - ME/CFIDS - Reye's Syndrome - Save the Music - Teens Against Smoking - Victim's Rights - Water Quality - Lady Hobbs   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    If you got the 29 gallon kit, then the filter that come with it is probably the 30 gallon. However, all filters give an "up to" number they use. So your filter is probably adequate for 20 gallon but may be lacking for a 30 gallon unless you have it very lightly stocked.

    You can upgrade to the 70 but you need to remove all the media in the 30 and add that to the new filter. I would personally wait until you have the 30 fully cycled and then add the media from the 30 to the new filter. Disrupting a brand new cycle is not the way to fly unless you have just started this cycle. If it's only just begun, you aren't messing up anything much.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    methuen ma usa
    Posts
    3,672

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - Lab_Rat   thank you for the birthday wishes - mommy1   Happy One Year AC Anniversary! - Rue   For being understanding, thank you - Cliff   (closest I could find to a catfish) Thanks for the nomination! - sheamurai   
    World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - genocidex   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cermet View Post
    A major problem here - it gerally takes longer to cycle a new filter than two weeks; most people here say give it five weeks before removing the old (cycled) filter. Again, a problem: your old filter isn't fully cycled so be careful. In any case, once both are cycled, removing one will cause a mini spike so expect that and use very large water changes to address the sudden increase in ammonia. This should pass quickly (but may last up to a week) so be ready for that after removing the old filter.
    cermet i was saying to finish off the cycle first with the new filter and old filter (i am assuming the op was in the earlier stages) then after the tank is 100% cycled wait at least 2 weeks.
    KING OF THE GOLD BARBS RAWR!!!!
    I wonder if i plant one of my tiger barbs would the demon seed grow to a full tree?
    gotta love them bunnies!
    I.R.S.: We've got what it takes to take what you've got!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •