· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default help with cycling

0 Not allowed!
    hey everyone, im new to aquariums. i bought a 10 gal tank with a 20 gal powered fliter and an air strip for bubbles. And also some gravel. i have 3 live plants in the tank and some rocks i think there shale? i had 3 little neon yellow barbs. as starter fish.i bought the PH tester and ammonia tester from what the salesman said at the fish store. i starting reading after i had the fish in the new tank already. i didnt realize i would be harming the fish. i did 50% water changes daily for about a week but i couldnt get the ammonia to come down. one morning i woke up one of the 3 fish were swimming kinda on its side. I couldnt take it anymore lol. so i bought the fish back to the pet store. now i am trying to do a fishless cycle with ammonia. 2 days ago i put ammonia in the water to the levels were at 4ppm. 2 days later the ammonia is still at the same level.

Shouldnt the levels have gone down already? Am i doing this right please help

Awards Showcase

For working with new fish keepers! Outstanding this month. - Taurus Just Because - Surfdog A round for the fallen this Memorial Day weekend. - Compass I had no cup, so I put it on a bun... - Slaphppy7 You are amazing! So smart and giving. - SeaLady 
    Can't give you any more rep, but well said! - steeler58 Thank again!! You seem to enjoy your coffee. - steeler58 Thanks for the rep!! - Compass this doesnt look like pie... not the right kind.. - Sandz for providing solid guidance to others - RiversGirl 
    Thanks for the rep! :) - Compass cheers - Fishhook Using up my winnings on my friends! - Compass No Message - Fishhook beeeeeeeer! - Sandz 
    Bottoms up! (even though you don't drink, lol) - Slaphppy7 We miss you... - Compass thank you for the filter! - RiversGirl for the fun game! - SeaLady Thank you very very much!! - Compass 

0 Not allowed!