· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Hybrid View

1. Question Advice for setting up new freshwater, tropical, planted tank

0 Not allowed!
    Hi. I'm pretty new at this and was wondering what advice someone might have on setting up a new aquarium.

I recently obtained a 29g tank and a heater and would like to set up a freshwater community tropical tank. I'd like to plant the tank, but I don't know what I should do for cycling it.

The end goal would be to have some small schools of smaller fish (guppies/tetras/platties) and a nice planted environment with some driftwood.

Where I am at right now is that I have the tank, filter, heater, hood & light fixture, and a stand. I chose not to buy substrate or plants or decoration until I found out a bit more.

Should I but the plant substrate and plants (plus a plant light) and just put them all in there to cycle the tank? Should I wait until I have my driftwood soaked and ready to put in before cycling? Also, I read somewhere that adding a raw shrimp (from the grocery store) is a good way to have constant levels of ammonia released into the tank. Is this a good fish-less cycling method?

Your advice is greatly appreciated!

Awards Showcase

No Message - talldutchie Merry Christmas - KingFisher Merry Christmas! - Slaphppy7 This Holiday Swine hopes your 2014 will be simply divine! - Trillianne Thanks again for your help yesterday - Slaphppy7 
    Happy New Year! - jeffs99dime Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year Mommy1. - Strider199 Cheers.  Have some of my hang-over cure. Happy New Year - Cliff Happy New Year! - KingFisher Happy Birthday. - Taurus 
    Happy Birthday. - gadget228 Thanks for the B-Day wish - Strider199 Looks like its time for a second cup! - Trillianne always fun - Surfdog thanks for sweetening the pot! - fishmommie