Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
  ...

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    100

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default Strange Test Results?!


    0 Not allowed!
    I've been cycling my tank without fish for a while now with 4ppm of ammonia in the tank. Five days ago i tested the water with my API freshwater master test kit and got results of 2ppm ammonia, 5ppm nitrite (did not test nitrate). I did not add any more ammonia and tested the water 2 days later and got 0ppm ammonia, 5+ppm nitrite (test colour was darker than 5ppm but thats all my test kit goes to), and 20ppm nitrate. I got very excited because i thought somehow id gone almost straight from no nitrite or nitrate to both in a few days. I dosed ammonia back to 2ppm and left it for a few days before testing again, but when i did i got 0.25ppm ammonia, 5+ppm nitrite and only ~5ppm nitrate. I am very confused because i have no idea where the nitrate went as i have done no water changes in the time since nitrite and nitrate appeared. For that matter i have no idea where it appeared from in the first place as my nitrite level stayed high and had only been present for 2 days before nitrate appeared. Does anyone know what has happened? is this normal?
    Thanks very much
    Last edited by pckroeger; 02-19-2013 at 01:51 PM.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    4,226

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Merry Christmas! - Slaphppy7   For Your 33 Gallon. Happy Holidays! - Taurus   Happy New Year! - jeffs99dime   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Is the tank planted? Did you give the bottles with testing solution a really good shake? Was the testing tube clean?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,581

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You needed one! - korith   Thanks for the nice comments about my sunset photos. - gabbyguppy   thanks for the input and all of your good advice - fishmommie   Merry Christmas - KingFisher   Merry Christmas - Cliff   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    make sure you really shake that test bottle (on all of the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate) and then do the 5 second shake with the vials.

    common weird readings are simple things like that.
    I do it all the time, mess up the testing somehow.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MIssouri
    Posts
    3,693

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I wouldn't necessarily worry about the nitrates dropping - your main concern is the ammonia dropping to 0 and your nitrites dropping to 0 - I assume your nitrates will eventually start going up again.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    100

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    The tank has no live plants, only artificial ones, but i havent been shaking the test solutions before i added them to the test tubes, thanks for al the help! :)

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    51

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    You have to be especially sure to shake nitrate #2 especially well as it tends to crystallize out of solution.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    812

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    couldn't find a betta so will send a ram - Lady Hobbs   but it needs a mate - Lady Hobbs   For sharing awesome cory advice! - WoadCelt   Welcome to AC - KingFisher   resident betta expert - Aeonflame   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Follow the testing instructions to the letter. They tell you exactly how long to shake each bottle.

    Your arm should feel like it's about to fall off after the nitrate test.
    "The Dumpster Tank" 26g flat back hex - Bolivian rams, Checker barbs, Harlequin and porkchop rasbora, neon tetra, SAE, otocinclus

    "Mini Mbuna" 20g long - 1 M. pulpican, 1 M. joanjohnsonae

    "Electric Blue Acara Tank" 75g - Giant danio, tiger barb, Bristlenose pleco

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Glen Arm. MD
    Posts
    2,634

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Happy Christmas - MuckyFish   thanks for advising on vegetables for my kribs! so here is a discus - ScottishFish   You help a lot - PhillipOrigami   For the bank account, and thx for the rep - Cliff   beautiful discus! - Crispy   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Your ammonia was too high (starting at 4 ppm ammonia) and this can stall the nitrite cycling bacteria - which you appear to be seeing - the 5 ppm nitrites. Better to hold an ammonia level of 1 - 2 ppm. This better allows the nitrite consumming bacteria to better grow.
    Last edited by Cermet; 02-20-2013 at 10:03 PM.
    Knowledge is fun(damental)

    A 75 gal with eight Discus, fake plants, and a lot of wood also with sand substrate. Clean up crew is down to just two Sterba's Corys. Filters: continuous new water flow; canister w/UV, in-tank algae scrubber!! Finally, junked the nitrate removal unit from hell.

    For Fishless cycling:http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •