· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

1. Default my in wall 220g tank makeover

0 Not allowed!
    Hello all,
    It has been suggested that I start a journal on my tank makeover. So here it is.....

To start I have been keeping fish of one type or another since the mid 1980's. I have kept south american cichlids , Oscars, pirhana, African cichlids, many different catfishes and my latest tank houses north American native game fish( green sunfish,redear sunfish,bluegill,channel catfish, small mouth bass and pumkinseed sunfish) .
    I am in the process of re-homing or relocating my current stock. If I don't find a suitable home they will be moved to my garden pond.
    The plan is to change my 220g in wall setup from the north American natives to some type of smaller community fishes. My first hurdle is heating this tank as the current set up doesn't require any heating. One of the difficulties is that the tank is actually in an unheated garage, well,semi heated. The temp in the garage rarely gets below 40f in the winter even when it is much colder outside.
    After pricing some of the high wattage heaters I have decided to build my own using electric water heater elements and two redundant temperature controllers.I plan on putting the heaters in the sump.
    So far I have run a new 20amp dedicated circuit to my tank to accommodate the added draw of the heating system as the tank now is on a shared 15amp circuit. I have a rough plan on the heating and will be starting that this week.
    I will post more as the project proceeds

Scott
    Attached Images Attached Images

0 Not allowed!
    I for one will be following this thread with great interest. Sounds pretty cool.

0 Not allowed!
    Hell yes, I'm in for this one! Great looking set-up as it is but jeez those fish look big. Good luck finding them a home!
    "Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known." Carl Sagan