Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
  ...

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
  1. #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    62

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Add more plants.

    If your nitrates are that high, with a CO2 source and some light you could have a thriving plant export business.

  2. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MIssouri
    Posts
    3,693

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ConnieW View Post
    I would like to add more small fish to my tank. I got this 29 gallon tank thinking I could have 29 inches of adult fish.
    I am rehoming my angle fish and that will leave me with 2 platys, 3 neon tetras, 2 cory cats and one guppy. I figure that is 13 inches of adult fish.
    Connie
    BTW I should mention that the 1" of fish per gallon doesn't apply to fish that grow larger than an inch as adults - the thought is this: would you put a 10" fish in a 10gal tank?

    The # of fish you put into a tank depends upon the amount of filtration, how much waste the fish produces, how large it will eventually become and how much space the fish needs.

  3. #13

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    4,226

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Merry Christmas! - Slaphppy7   For Your 33 Gallon. Happy Holidays! - Taurus   Happy New Year! - jeffs99dime   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    As to the original question, my 2 eurocents....

    1. Get a sample to some kind of testing lab that's willing to guarantee your results. You'll know for sure and you got something to confront the city. As others pointed out this is distinctly unhealthy.
    2. Consider a big RO device. (for example: http://www.freedrinkingwater.com/products.htm)You could use it for your household water and use the grey water that comes out of it in your garden. Downside, investment is likely to be several hunderd $
    3. As for the tank itself. An algae scrubber is one idea. Simply planting the tank very well is another. Fast growing species will have the biggest effect on nitrates. I find amazon frogbit does an amazing job on nitrates. Anything from the hygrophila family. Downside. Frequent pruning required.

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    26

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by andreahp View Post
    BTW I should mention that the 1" of fish per gallon doesn't apply to fish that grow larger than an inch as adults - the thought is this: would you put a 10" fish in a 10gal tank?

    The # of fish you put into a tank depends upon the amount of filtration, how much waste the fish produces, how large it will eventually become and how much space the fish needs.
    Well, you saw what I have and I think the largest ones will be the cory cats. I rehomed the angel fish I had and I am looking to have only neons, white clouds and maybe some type of shrimp and small loaches for the snails.

  5. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    26

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by talldutchie View Post
    As to the original question, my 2 eurocents....

    1. Get a sample to some kind of testing lab that's willing to guarantee your results. You'll know for sure and you got something to confront the city. As others pointed out this is distinctly unhealthy.
    2. Consider a big RO device. (for example: http://www.freedrinkingwater.com/products.htm)You could use it for your household water and use the grey water that comes out of it in your garden. Downside, investment is likely to be several hunderd $
    3. As for the tank itself. An algae scrubber is one idea. Simply planting the tank very well is another. Fast growing species will have the biggest effect on nitrates. I find amazon frogbit does an amazing job on nitrates. Anything from the hygrophila family. Downside. Frequent pruning required.
    Well, the only lab testing of water I found online cost over $100. That will have to wait until I can afford it. I will check into the state....maybe they have a more affordable testing available.
    Thanks!

  6. #16

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    20,090

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   Chocolate always makes a body better.  Glad you're on the ment - fishmommie   Here's to a quick recovery my friend. - mommy1   Happy Holidays. - gadget228   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Perhaps while you are waiting to have the lab testing done you could try another type of nitrate test kit or maybe have a LFS test your water for you.

    If that proves to give you different results than your test kit, then maybe there is something wrong with the test kit or how you are testing ?

    If it were me, I would want to make sure my test kit was actually giving me accurate results before spending a lot of money on a lab test.
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MIssouri
    Posts
    3,693

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ConnieW View Post
    Well, you saw what I have and I think the largest ones will be the cory cats. I rehomed the angel fish I had and I am looking to have only neons, white clouds and maybe some type of shrimp and small loaches for the snails.
    Excellent - great fish for that size tank. I only wrote what I did because many people go by the inch of fish per gallon but it doesn't always apply.

  8. #18

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Gainesville, VA
    Posts
    6,626

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   for providing sage tips to – and keeping up with -- so many - RiversGirl   Have a Angelfish for the advice on Dan's Journal, I can't rep you anymore yet :) - steeler58   You really need some discus :o) - fishmommie   A quick ninja penguin for you. - mommy1   
    Troop and Military Support - Amber Alert - Bladder Cancer - Endometriosis - Equality - Liver Cancer - Liver Disease - Missing Children - POW/MIA - Spina Bifida - Suicide - KevinVA   World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - KevinVA   Adoptee - Bone Cancer - Child Exploitation and Abuse - Hope and Support - Peace - Retinoblastoma - Right to Life - Student Sexual Assault - KevinVA   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    If you know the contact information for your water distribution company, just give them a call/e-mail and tell them you're concerned with the water supply. I did this, when I noticed Ammonia of .5ppm in my tap. They actually came out to my house to test, then went to two other locations to test and followed up with results. Of course, they weren't the results I was expecting (they found no "free ammonia" (NH3) and I don't believe they tested for "total ammonia," which includes ionized (NH4+) ammonia), and I still get a result of .5ppm in my own tests. Of course, the API test, tests for "total" ammonia, not just free ammonia, and free ammonia is the toxic ammonia. I figure this is something people should be aware of with these tests, and it's something I didn't know about before.

    That being said, it doesn't answer your question about Nitrates. But, if you contact your distribution company, they should look into it free of cost, and you may learn something new about your water.
    Adventures in Aquaria - The KevinVA Story

    When in doubt, ask yourself... W.W.L.S (What would Lee Say)?

    Have a fish problem? Fill out and post this completed questionnaire in the General Aquarium Forum, when you start a new thread.

  9. #19

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elgin, Illinois USA
    Posts
    5,995

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Here's to three great years ;-) - steeler58   Merry Christmas! - rebecca_finny   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   Merry Christmas & Happy New Year! - Plecos   Happy Holidays! - Boundava   
    Cesarean Sections - Headaches - Hospice Care - Multiple Myeloma - gronlaura   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I have tap water with too much ammonia and a very high pH. I purchased my own RO/DI system - you may only need the RO. You can purchase from the manufacturer, about $315-320 for the RO/DI. I was buying water (for water changes for a 75 gal) and now I make my own. I love it.

    Here is the system I bought - http://www.spectrapure.com/St_MaxCap-RODI-MF.htm

    I only use mine for my tank and add Seachem Replenish to add back the minerals etc that the fish need. The also make just RO systems, which are less expensive.

    Here are their RO systems - http://www.spectrapure.com/St_line_pressureRO.htm

    This company came highly recommended. You can contact them (I spoke with Scott) for help with your nitrate problem and they will advise what system you need.
    Last edited by gronlaura; 02-12-2013 at 06:27 PM.
    75 gal - Smudge Spot Cories, Silvertip & Pristella Tetras, Scissortail & Red Tail Rasboras, Pearl Gourami, Black Kuhli Loaches, Whiptail Cats, Wild Caught BNP
    Dual 29 gals - Diamond Tetras. Harlequin Rasboras, Bloodfin Tetras
    10 Gal - Mr. Betta's Fishy Paradise

    "Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass....it's about learning to dance in the rain"

  10. #20

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles (Los Feliz)
    Posts
    182

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾•̃̾)۶ - korith   
    Gay and Lesbian Pride - koaladarshana   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    If you're only changing 8 gallons of water a week, why not invest in two of those 5 gallon water jugs and buy R/O water from your local water store or aquarium shop? My BF does this weekly for his saltwater tank. Just my two cents.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •