· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Exclamation Betta laying eggs (no male) - HELP!

0 Not allowed!
    I'm a betta care newbie, but have a question about betta behavior...

I have a female betta that has laid eggs 3 times now in the last 2 weeks!!

There is absolutely no male around, but the tank she's in is pretty reflective (I've tied to minimize her flaring at her reflection by putting in some tall plants in the corners). Before you say it, yes--I'm sure they're eggs. She made a little bubble nest for them each time under a floating lily pad. Now, I don't know how she manages to release them herself without a male present, but she does! Moreover, she displays male-type behavior in caring for the eggs afterward. She'll barely leave them alone, even to eat (have to try really hard to get her attention). She seems quite stressed out, because she'll be constantly chasing eggs that fall and spitting them back up top and blowing more bubbles. (I understand this is usually what the male is supposed to do!). The first time, I was so worried with her stressing out that I fished out the eggs, but she managed to then find a few that had fallen beforehand and continue the behavior until a few days later they disappeared. The two most recent times, I've left the eggs in there, assuming that she'll eat them eventually (as most people on these forums have suggested). However, she is so persistent in keeping the eggs up there that she keeps digging (yes, buring her head in the gravel) underneath the egg nest to retrieve fallen eggs.