· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Hybrid View

1. Default Questions about filters.

0 Not allowed!
    So I'm new to keeping aquariums and I currently have a 60 gallon cube (24x24x24) that's cycling. Unfortunately, I didn't know about fishless cycling (wish I had), and we're about a month in with 6 tiger barbs. I have a Marineland penguin 350 on the tank, however, I'd like to upgrade the filter eventually (we're talking probably at least 6 months down the road). I was looking at canister filters and was wondering which brands were recommended and which size would be needed for my tank.
    Thanks!

0 Not allowed!
    The are many brands out there, and most of them are good ones. I guess it is like asking
    Which car to get, there are so many choices and most ae at the same level. If you we asking about
    Hang on back filters, on the other hand, aquaclears stand out, but as far as I know of no canister filter brand really beats the rest in everything. One of the better brands(although correspondingly pricy) would be eheim. Their biofiltration capacity is big and most run very quietly. However their flow rate(and because of that, mechanical filtration) sucks so if you have a not-heavily stocked tank and want crystal clear water then it may not be for you.

0 Not allowed!
    I like the Rena XP filters. A XP3 or XP4 would do a great job on your tank. Eheim and Fluval also make some really good canister filters as well. I don't think you would go wrong with any of those three brands. Just pick a filter rated for about twice the volumn of your tank
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo