· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Hybrid View

1. Default 50 Gallon Journal (Pic Heavy)

0 Not allowed!
    Hi guys,

This is going to be my first journal. I am relatively new to fish tanks, when I was younger my dad and I had a turtle tank but I never really took care of it. I started with a Betta and moved onto a 20gal planted community as well as a 10 gal half moon. Both low tech with just some basic fish in them, livebearers, tetras etc. I'd been hoping to get more into the aquarium world and make a larger planted community tank maybe with some dwarf cichlids or something.

Well that aside, I got a free 50 gallon from some friends of friends. Went and picked it up the other day, not exactly what I had been expecting (especially since they told me it was a 75). But it looks like I have my work cut out for me so this may be a very slow journal.

Picked up the tank and it was very very very veerrrry dirty. Iron stand was included but also quite dirty and rusting in some places. Came with two filters, heater, and the typical box of stuff.

Here are some pics of it in my garage:

The Front

The Back

As you can see....very dirty

The Side
    Last edited by Kjmov4; 01-30-2013 at 04:58 AM. Reason: Added some of the pictures

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Continued...

The Tops (possibly the worst)

Little close up of the dirty gravel/broken ornament substrate

Few corners look like this

3. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Now the extras!

Gravel Vacuum

Actually in pretty good condition, and really long. Might come in handy so I'll keep.

Lights

Probably will keep for now at least. Will eventually want to update to some better plant lights anyways but better than no lights. Although still just reminds me of the hoods....yuck.

4. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Nasty heater

Looks to be fluval, depending on how clean I can/want to try and get this possibly keep

Filter 1