Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
  ...

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA - USA
    Posts
    414

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾•̃̾)۶ - korith   for the help on plants lol - Greentoads41   I have to buy fish! - ddavis1979   Thanks for the gift. Couldn't find a whale shark lol. Merry Christmas - Northerly   
    World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - ddavis1979   

    Default Cycling and water condition abnormality


    0 Not allowed!
    So I started a 20 Gallon long fish tank back on January 8th, almost 3 weeks ago.

    I started off with a fish-in cycle, and I had 2 corydoras in there on day 1. And about a week later, I added 5 Pristella Tetras and a Betta.

    I tested my water this morning and much to my surprise (ammo-0/nitrite-0/nitrate-0)

    How after 3 weeks can all 3 readings be zero?
    55 Gallon Freshwater Tank (semi-planted) 48"x21"x13"

    Video of 55GAL Tank - DEC 2012

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    3,691

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    What kind of water test kit are you using?

    How often are you changing your water and how much at a time? Is it possible you are removing all the ammonia when you change the water? If you are cycling with fish, there should be a small amount of ammonia present to grow bacteria.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA - USA
    Posts
    414

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾•̃̾)۶ - korith   for the help on plants lol - Greentoads41   I have to buy fish! - ddavis1979   Thanks for the gift. Couldn't find a whale shark lol. Merry Christmas - Northerly   
    World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - ddavis1979   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I am using the "Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Inc." Liquid Ammonia Test Kit. And the API Test Strips looking for nitrates/nitrites.

    I have been doing a 50% water change on a weekly basis, but since I have sand substrate, I have not been "vacuuming" the bottom. I was planning on only doing 20% water changes weekly fo a while, but I have been trying to clear up the water some which has been a touch cloudy.
    55 Gallon Freshwater Tank (semi-planted) 48"x21"x13"

    Video of 55GAL Tank - DEC 2012

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Glen Arm. MD
    Posts
    2,634

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Happy Christmas - MuckyFish   thanks for advising on vegetables for my kribs! so here is a discus - ScottishFish   You help a lot - PhillipOrigami   For the bank account, and thx for the rep - Cliff   beautiful discus! - Crispy   

    Exclamation


    0 Not allowed!
    Not an overly heavy load so possible the ammonia is not reading as high as needed to get a color change in the kit (clear enough.) Some kits do not show color changes well (maybe not the issue but guessing.) Highly unlikely the bacteria are removing enough ammonia to be zero so I'd do more water changes (at least twice a week - 50%.) When nitrites hit, could spike badly (might need 50% W/C every day) so get a liquid test kit for nitrites right away - strips work but are not good (and fail very easily.) If the water is slightly cloudy, very unlikely your ammonia is zero so'd I'd suspect the kit and/or readings. Cloudy water is a serious bacteria overgrowth that is always due to poor water quality. Do large and or more often water changes.
    Last edited by Cermet; 01-28-2013 at 02:11 PM.
    Knowledge is fun(damental)

    A 75 gal with eight Discus, fake plants, and a lot of wood also with sand substrate. Clean up crew is down to just two Sterba's Corys. Filters: continuous new water flow; canister w/UV, in-tank algae scrubber!! Finally, junked the nitrate removal unit from hell.

    For Fishless cycling:http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...ead.php?t=5640

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA - USA
    Posts
    414

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾•̃̾)۶ - korith   for the help on plants lol - Greentoads41   I have to buy fish! - ddavis1979   Thanks for the gift. Couldn't find a whale shark lol. Merry Christmas - Northerly   
    World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - ddavis1979   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    The drift wood I put in there was starting to turn black and the water had a funky smell to it.

    I did a 50% water change and took the driftwood out, scrubbed it down and let is soak in boiling water for 10 minutes.

    Not that it would effect the cycle, but I hopefully it will help water quality.
    55 Gallon Freshwater Tank (semi-planted) 48"x21"x13"

    Video of 55GAL Tank - DEC 2012

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Tashkent, Uzbekistan
    Posts
    40

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    So far the only reason for huge drastic water changes I see in this case are is smelling water. Test readings described above, stocking and "touch of cloudy" shouldn't be reason for 50% changes, becuase it slows down the cycling.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    20,090

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    T.G.I.F.! - Slaphppy7   Chocolate always makes a body better.  Glad you're on the ment - fishmommie   Here's to a quick recovery my friend. - mommy1   Happy Holidays. - gadget228   Have a Candy cane ;-) Merry Christmas - steeler58   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Cycling with fish can be a delicate balance of maintaining the ammonia and nitrite levels low enough to the point of no serious and permanent harm to the fish while still leaving a very small amount of ammonia and/or nitrite to feed the bacteria growth. Based on the info posted in this thread, it sounds like you are not basing the size of your water changes on your test results as you have a set schedule and amount regardless of the test results. As that has been keeping your water parameters in very good condition, the worst thing that could happen right now is that you might have prolonged the cycle. But that would not be a bad thing as I’m sure your fish do appreciate it.

    I too would suggest getting a good quality liquid test kit as those test strips can result in testing errors. You really want the most accurate test results you can get when cycling wit fish
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •