Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal



Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cent. NJ
    Posts
    673

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You needed one! - korith   

    Default To much water flow?


    0 Not allowed!
    Hey guys. I just set up another (small) tank in my apartment. Everything is all good in the tank but I think the water could be to strong.

    Its a filter suited for [probably] a 40 gallon tank and the tank is only 15 or 20 gallons.

    When the water level is a little low (like blow the trim) it literally pushed the sand around. Also it seems to push the little corries I have in the tank around.

    The only other a fish in the tank is a Bolivian Ram, who isn't really going "high" in the tank. The tank isn't that big but its like he is laying down on the floor, he either hides (normal) or swims around with the corries. He is acting fine, I just feel like the water flow is to high and he can't swim to the top. He waits for the flakes to come to him.
    RIP Shark Bait, my Red Tail Shark :(

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lasalle-Peru
    Posts
    6,133

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    No wonder your m doesn't work! Here is some more to replace what you sloshed. - mommy1   Bunny pest control penquin. - mommy1   I severely underestimated her stupidity... which was stupid of me! - Honey Badger 1   Well, from where I am sittin' it is good to have you back man! Have one on me. - Honey Badger 1   Thanks for the rep :-) - ~firefly~   
    Bone Marrow Donation - Childhood Depression - Depression - Environment - Eye Injury Prevention - Glaucoma - Kidney Cancer - Kidney Disease - Kidney Transplantation - Leukemia - Lyme Disease - Mental Retardation - Missing Children - Organ Donation - T - 850R   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Measure your tank so we know the actual volume, and please post the filter brand/model.

    These kinds of specifics are really helpful if you want people to have the ability to offer options within the framework of the equipment you have.

    If not .. It's really easy to say - Get a bigger tank or a [Probably] less volatile filter [But, I think if you were simply going to do that you wouldn't have asked. Know what I mean?].
    Gas mileage isn't everything OIIIIIIIO
    Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.
    Why pretend there are no stupid questions? Actually, There are many stupid questions: "Should I drink this bleach?" Is just one example.
    Having said that, Just because it's a stupid question doesn't mean that it shouldn't be asked. It's better to know.

    A warm beer is better than a cold beer. Because nothing is better than a cold beer, and a warm beer is better than nothing.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cent. NJ
    Posts
    673

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You needed one! - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Well the filter was a gift and used from somewhere else where I 1st got it. Its an Aquaeon I think (spell check). Not sure on the brand of glass, I'm thinking its a 15G tank though.

    I guess the real question is, how can I slow the flow rate on a filter that doesn't have a dial.
    RIP Shark Bait, my Red Tail Shark :(

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    NEW JERSEY
    Posts
    16,911

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~   Merry Christmas - Cliff   Merry Christmas my friend! - Taurus   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Happy New Year! - Slaphppy7   
    Troop and Military Support - Amber Alert - Bladder Cancer - Endometriosis - Equality - Liver Cancer - Liver Disease - Missing Children - POW/MIA - Spina Bifida - Suicide - jeffs99dime   World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - jeffs99dime   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    The brand of glass/tank is irrelevant. What are the measurements: length, width, height? If you plug the 3 numbers in the calculator in the right hand margin it will give you tank size in gallons and liters. here:
    http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/conv...calculator.php

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Western Colorado
    Posts
    582

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   For your tank - steeler1   Here's a cutthroat (?) for your dream tank... - WhistlingBadger   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Here's another thread that might help if you decide your current current is too much. lol.
    http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aqua...=flow+diverter
    Tanks: 30 gal community and 10 gal shrimp/community
    Journals Here

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kewarra Beach, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    357

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You needed one! - korith   :-) - ~firefly~   For good advice here at the forum - Cermet   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Depending on the style of filter, there are various ways to stifle or baffle the flow - I have a filter rated for 50 gallons in my grandaughters 6 gallon betta tank, I've trimmed a cork to fit the outlet (allowing some flow through there) and taken off the aeration suction hose, which is now an outlet because of the restriction in the main outlet. The nipple the hose was on is now pointed at the underside of the ledge the cover rests on and provides the necessary surface agitation. Not real scientific, and took a fair bit of mucking around with the cork to get it right, but it works well, and Bluey the Betta is as happy as a pig in poo.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    848

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Don't forget that a filter rated for 40g, once stuffed with filter media and has BB on it is really only rated for a 20g tank, so in that case there should be no problems.

    Adding a spraybar to the filter outlet well help as well if you are worried.
    Fiiiiiiiiiiissssshhhhhh!

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Second left after the Haggis Farm
    Posts
    3,974

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas - Cliff   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Merry Christmas - KingFisher   Happy New Year - mommy1   Thanks! - pRED   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    +1 to the others, we need to know exact dimensions.

    A photo of the filter and tank would be a massive help too.

    On a different note, bolivians generally don't come to the top, they usually just chill out in the bottom 1/3rd of the tank
    My therapist says I need a bigger tank . . . . .

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cent. NJ
    Posts
    673

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You needed one! - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Okay thanks everyone, I will take some pics today when I get some time after class. Its a strange fit. And yeah I checked its a 15G tank (Top Fin) (theres a sticker that was on the other side lol)
    RIP Shark Bait, my Red Tail Shark :(

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cent. NJ
    Posts
    673

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You needed one! - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottishFish
    +1 to the others, we need to know exact dimensions.

    A photo of the filter and tank would be a massive help too.

    On a different note, bolivians generally don't come to the top, they usually just chill out in the bottom 1/3rd of the tank
    Okay well that makes a lot of sense, I was expecting him to be a mid level swimmer. My cousin wanted to pick up a single neon just to see if he could swim at the top, but then again thats a little fish that won't do well with the flow IMO
    RIP Shark Bait, my Red Tail Shark :(

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •