· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: neon tetra

Exclamation neon tetra

0 Not allowed!
    i was at the lfs today and saw some neon tetra that were very small.
    i liked them so i got 6
    i got them for this tank
    20 gallon:
    2 platy
    1 guppy
    3 oto
    and a honey gourmai.

i added them to the tank and the honey gourmai is chasing them.
    how can i stop this for now.
    all the lfs in my area are closed now
    i dont have another tank that i could put them in.
    what can i do

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    I'm not an expert by a longshot on this forum, but the Neons are one of the tiniest species of Tetra. I'm thinking that your gourami is figuring on them being food for him to snack on.

You may be finding them eaten soon, or they may stress themselves to death from the gourami chasing them.

Anyone else want to chime in to confirm if my theory is correct, or to advise something i'm missing?

20 gallon tall - 3 paskai's neon red rainbow, 5 paskai's blue eyed rainbowfish, 8 harlequin rasbora, 2 blue ninja shrimp, 6 cherry shrimp, 2 nerite snail, 1 bronze cory, 1 peppered cory, 1 julii cory, 2 pc driftwood planted with anubias and narrowleaf java fern.
    Other plants in tank - 1 bunch anacharis, 1 bunch water wysteria, 1 package of B. Caroliniana, 1 Crypto Luten, 1 red wendii, Mossball.
    Cinnamon = 9 year old Siamese Cat[
    1 Rat - Domino aka Domi
    1 Robo hamster - Spice

0 Not allowed!
    catch the honey gourami, keep him in the net for a few hours or ideally in a separate tank altogether. this is a natural response to what the gourami feels as an intrusion to its territory. removing the gourami for a while will let the tetras establish themselves and the gourami to not feel so territorial.
    even a fully grown honey gourami's mouth is tiny, and they aren't very competent predators so I doubt the predator theory.

0 Not allowed!