Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
  ...

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    ambler, PA
    Posts
    303

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Because he looks like your betta! :-) Welcome to AC! - lotus flower   ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default Skipped Nitrites?


    0 Not allowed!
    I am about 1 week into a fishless cycle, but have used some BB from filter on established tank to help speed things up. I dosed with ammonia to 3ppm about 5 days ago. I then proceeded to plant the tank, add rocks driftwood etc. SO yesterday I tested ammonia and it was about 0.5, no nitrites and no nitrates.

    Today I am reading zero ammonia, 0 nitrite and 5ppm nitrates.

    My question is where do I go from here, redose with ammonia? Why didn't I ever see the nitrites?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    NEW JERSEY
    Posts
    16,911

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~   Merry Christmas - Cliff   Merry Christmas my friend! - Taurus   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Happy New Year! - Slaphppy7   
    Troop and Military Support - Amber Alert - Bladder Cancer - Endometriosis - Equality - Liver Cancer - Liver Disease - Missing Children - POW/MIA - Spina Bifida - Suicide - jeffs99dime   World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - jeffs99dime   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Are you using a filter from an established tank on the current tank or are you using biomedia from an established tank in your current filter. What size tank are you talking about btw.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    ambler, PA
    Posts
    303

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Because he looks like your betta! :-) Welcome to AC! - lotus flower   ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffs99dime
    Are you using a filter from an established tank on the current tank or are you using biomedia from an established tank in your current filter. What size tank are you talking about btw.
    I took the removable pieces from my old filter (aqueon quite flow has these blue things in there that supposedly have BB grow on them) and put them in the new tank (36g) the old tank is only 10g and still stocked so I can't transfer the whole filter over, unless I bring the livestock too.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    NEW JERSEY
    Posts
    16,911

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~   Merry Christmas - Cliff   Merry Christmas my friend! - Taurus   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Happy New Year! - Slaphppy7   
    Troop and Military Support - Amber Alert - Bladder Cancer - Endometriosis - Equality - Liver Cancer - Liver Disease - Missing Children - POW/MIA - Spina Bifida - Suicide - jeffs99dime   World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - jeffs99dime   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Dose ammonia back up to 3ppm . Test again in 24 hours. Post your readings again. What filter is on the new tank also? Did you place the old BB parts in your new filter? Or did you place them in the tank?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    ambler, PA
    Posts
    303

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Because he looks like your betta! :-) Welcome to AC! - lotus flower   ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffs99dime
    Dose ammonia back up to 3ppm . Test again in 24 hours. Post your readings again. What filter is on the new tank also? Did you place the old BB parts in your new filter? Or did you place them in the tank?
    I shook them off in the tank near new filters intake, I could try to get them inside of it too. Thought rinsing them off in there would help transfer some, all sorts of icky slime came off. New filter is a bigger version of aqueon quiet flow. the 55g one.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    ambler, PA
    Posts
    303

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Because he looks like your betta! :-) Welcome to AC! - lotus flower   ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I couldn't figure out how to edit previous post but I just dosed it back up to 3ppm and will post levels in 24 hours.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    373

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    They didn't have rainbowfish, but have a guppy! - Lolita   Thanks for the help. Have a tetra! :) - tate8   Betta are awesome! - Tiari   Thank you :) - MCHRKiller   Happy X-mas! :-) - MCHRKiller   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    It might take a couple doses of ammonia until you get your trites, or you may not see them at all. Things get wonky when you use established media.

    If you don't see them after a couple more doses, check your trates. If you have lots of trates, you're cycled. But then dose again, just to be sure. Caution is a very good thing.
    Beth
    1 - 55 gallon planted community
    3 - 10 to 20 gallon planted betta tanks
    My advice: slow down, think, and be willing to learn. Then you'll be fine, no matter what.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    ambler, PA
    Posts
    303

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Because he looks like your betta! :-) Welcome to AC! - lotus flower   ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by bethyMT
    It might take a couple doses of ammonia until you get your trites, or you may not see them at all. Things get wonky when you use established media.

    If you don't see them after a couple more doses, check your trates. If you have lots of trates, you're cycled. But then dose again, just to be sure. Caution is a very good thing.
    Where do trates need to be to officially call it cycled? For example my established 10g routinely reads 0/0/0 but it has been this way for a long time. It it possible that plants consume the trates? It's heavily planted.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    373

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    They didn't have rainbowfish, but have a guppy! - Lolita   Thanks for the help. Have a tetra! :) - tate8   Betta are awesome! - Tiari   Thank you :) - MCHRKiller   Happy X-mas! :-) - MCHRKiller   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Well, they should be quite a bit higher than they are on your established tanks, since the ammonia you are dosing is probably a bit higher than your fish could produce.

    I am sure the plants will suck up some of the trates. Perhaps the thing is to is see if the trates are rising (the act of going up, not the exact number) from day to day. If they are staying at zero/not changing at all, I'm not sure what you could do to determine if you're cycled. My guess is that, without any trates (or no increase), you wouldn't be cycled yet.
    Beth
    1 - 55 gallon planted community
    3 - 10 to 20 gallon planted betta tanks
    My advice: slow down, think, and be willing to learn. Then you'll be fine, no matter what.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    ambler, PA
    Posts
    303

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Because he looks like your betta! :-) Welcome to AC! - lotus flower   ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    After dosing up to 3ppm yesterday, it's been roughly 24 hours and the results are astonishingly different.

    Ammonia 0.5ppm
    Nitrites ~1.5ppm
    Trates - ~40ppm

    Although I am not really great at reading these kits, I attached image of results. What does this mean for the progression of my cycle? I now must wait for trites to drop right? and no more ammonia for now?



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •