· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Unhappy Pump for DIY Canister Filter and help with setup.

0 Not allowed!
    Hi guys, I am new to this forum and forums in general, so I am sorry if I have put this question in the wrong spot or done something wrong. In fact, I am new to aquatic care too...

I am trying to set up a low cost and functional filtration system for 2-3 tanks. I have one turtle tank, one fish tank (with one goldfish ha) and the turtle's feeding tank. My plans for the tanks are pretty elaborate because I am a trying to get it to work well, whilst being a cheapskate. Preferably, I wanted to build 3 canister filters for each tank, each with their own pump, that would, through lots of valves, all connect to the same UV filtration device (this would be used only by 1 tank at any given time). It's kinda simple in theory, once you get your head around it, but there is a lot that I don't know that has set me back a lot (pump types, electricity for the pumps, etc). My second thought was to buy a proper canister filter for the turtle and get a cheap filter for my single goldfish but I had already bought a separate UV filter, so I kinda have to keep going. I also wanted a external pump so I could use a large tube to suck the dirty water out of the turtle tank. I wanted a large tube because turtles' shells shed and I am not sure if a submersible pump would be able to pick them up (due the the slits they absorb water through).

So, my question is if this pump:
    ( http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-DC-80...item4abe9bb41a )
    would be suitable for a homemade canister filter. I heard you need something pressurised and that was the cheapest I have come across. I was previously looking at this pump:
    (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/300820201...84.m1423.l2649 )