Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
  ...

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    32

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default Quick Filtration question


    0 Not allowed!
    I know this question, and the answer may be more complicated than yes or no, but in general, should a fluval 306 be adequate for a 40 gallon breeder?

    I was originally going for the marineland 27 gallon cube (which based on their dimensions, is actually about 31 gallons) but I think I may upgrade to a 40 breeder, as the space it's going in will fit that tank BEAUTIFULLY!

    The tank will be planted, and be fairly moderately stocked, I don't intend to overstock like crazy, but I am pretty sure the 306 has already been purchased for me as a gift, so I figure if it'll work I'll keep it, but if need be, I can take it back and upgrade to a 406.

    What do you think?

    Thanks!
    -Scott

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ypsilanti, Michigan
    Posts
    6,823

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Happy Birthday Bud. Cheers! - Strider199   Merry Xmas! Ill drink to that! - Sandz   Happy New Year! - jeffs99dime   Birthday Beer. - gadget228   Sending healing vibes to your Oscar - Silbar   
    Cancer - Epilepsy - Foster Care - Gynecological Cancer - Rett Syndrome - Brhino   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I might add a HoB filter to that, like an aquaclear 50 or 70. Never hurts to overfliter and it's very nice to have two filters going on one tank for a variety of reasons. I have two filters now on every tank I have bigger than a 10 gallon.
    300 gallon mega tank: sailfin pleco, clown loaches, silver dollars, roseline sharks, congo tetras, new world cichlids
    125 gallon office tank: Africian cichlids, synodontis catfih
    75 gallon community tank: bolivian rams, black skirt tetras, dwarf neon rainbowfish, corys, harlequin rasboras, otos, bristlenose and bulldog plecos, assassin snails, various shrimp
    60 gallon goldfish tank: fancy goldfish

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    927

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    No Message - korith   No Message - Indian Woods Angels   You need a Tanganyikan Cichlid - jeffs99dime   Now you have 4 firemouths! - seb's fish   Arapaima and whale shark in 20G made me LOL! - ddavis1979   
    Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - Northerly   Autism - Northerly   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I agree with brhino, and would recommend and ac50 as 40g's are kinda short if I'm not mistaken. The ac70 would probably dig up your substrate with it's heavier flow.
    Coastie-to-be... hopefully.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    32

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Hmmm. I'm actually trying to avoid HOB stuff as much as possible. I want as little visible equipment as I can get for this tank. I don't even like that the canister had to come over the back lol.

    Any way to avoid having the canister and an HOB? I of course want max functionality, but minimal equipment showing.

    The 40 Breeder is 36" long x 18" wide x 16" high, or at least something very close to that. Instead of 2 filters, could I go up to a single fluval 406?

    Thanks!

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    42,943

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Member of the month, a toast is in order. - Strider199   Sorry about your blood parrot :-( - ~firefly~   For this; http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=111325 - Strider199   :-) - ~firefly~   Happy mother's day! Enjoy one on me LOL - imma24   
    Childhood Cancer - hobbs   World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - hobbs   Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - Lady Hobbs   Bone Marrow Donation - Childhood Depression - Depression - Environment - Eye Injury Prevention - Glaucoma - Kidney Cancer - Kidney Disease - Kidney Transplantation - Leukemia - Lyme Disease - Mental Retardation - Missing Children - Organ Donation - T - Lady Hobbs   Arthritis - Child Abuse - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - Dystonia - Education - Free Speech - Interstitial Cystitis - ME/CFIDS - Reye's Syndrome - Save the Music - Teens Against Smoking - Victim's Rights - Water Quality - Lady Hobbs   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I would think the 306 would be fine in a tank only 36" in length. Like you say, it is not going to be massively overstocked.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    927

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    No Message - korith   No Message - Indian Woods Angels   You need a Tanganyikan Cichlid - jeffs99dime   Now you have 4 firemouths! - seb's fish   Arapaima and whale shark in 20G made me LOL! - ddavis1979   
    Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - Northerly   Autism - Northerly   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Yeah I was thinking a standard 40. Should have read more closely:p
    Coastie-to-be... hopefully.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia Suburbs
    Posts
    60

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I think the 306 would be fine as long as the tank is lightly to moderately stocked. Even so, I second the idea that two filters are better than one. If you up the stock, you deff need a second filter.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,010

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Great info on water softeners - Boundava   Thanks for the gift! I bow to your experience so i wanted to be sure that i did not give the OP wrong info. - Silbar   Tx for all the help for me and everyone else! - angelcraze2   Rocksor knows cichlids! - Brhino   Can''t give rep points, but great job on the diagnosis/treatment - Boundava   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    As long are your ammonia=nitrites=0, then that fluval 306 is fine.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Loveland, Ohio
    Posts
    140

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith   No Message - Jaster   Welcome to the forum - fishmommie   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    If you use a substrate of any type, plant, ornaments, rocks, etc. your tank does not hold 31 gallons of water setup. Gravel or sand you figure one to one and a half pounds of either per gallon of water in tank capacity. Using gravel as an example, you would have 31 lbs. of gravel minimum in a 31 gallon tank. This all takes up space the water cannot enter. A decently-planted tank with a few rocks and correct substrate can cut capacity by almost 20%. Everything and anything you put into the tank cuts capacity.

    So, your 31 gallon tank is now a 24.8 gallon tank at worst case and about 26.5 gallons at best. People need to remember this when planning stocking levels and filtration.

    I do agree with the statement about never having too much filtration. In the past I always oversized my filters, even Sponge-Filters in my breeder tanks were oversized. In my 20 gallon growouts I used Supreme Aquamasters, these move 400 GPH without the media. I just put diffusers on the outlets to spread the flow out or ran them down pieces of PVC pipe with holes drilled in it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •