· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Hybrid View

1. Default Starting 16 gal reef tank- lighting question

0 Not allowed!
    Hey everyone,

In a few months I will be slowly starting a 16 gallon nano reef tank. I've been researching reef tanks for the past 6 months, and I think I'm a few months away from getting started with the appropriate information. I have a 36 gallon fresh water tank, but I don't want to go that big with a salt water tank, simply due to monetary and space restrictions and the fact that I don't want to put a thousand dollars into something that may not suit me. That being said, I was going to use 20 lbs of sand, 20-25 lbs of live rock, a Rena Filstar xp2 canister filter, and two powerheads. My question for you- what is a good (brand) light that can be set on a 24 hour timer (automatic day and moon lighting) that will work for low and medium light level corals?

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    excuse my mistake- meant to say and/or in reference to the power heads and filter, seeing as how the filter is fairly high output

0 Not allowed!
    Depending on the exact lighting requirements of the corals, either a two or four bulb T5HO fixture would fit the bill. Aquatic life is a good fixture that is reasonably priced.

http://www.aquaticlife.com/products/277

May I ask what you are planning to use the XP2 for ?

The below link might be of some help with you questions about water flow

http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.co...nd-movement-2/
    Last edited by Cliff; 10-26-2012 at 03:04 AM.
    If you take your time to do the research FIRST, you can successfully set-up and keep ANY type of aquarium with ease.
    "Not using a quarantine tank is like playing Russian roulette. Nobody wins the game, some people just get to play longer than others." - Anthony Calfo
    Fishless Cycle Cycling with Fish Marine Aquarium Info [URL="http://saltwater.aquaticcommunity.com/"]

4. Default

0 Not allowed!